Home > children, family, humor, wife > Wanted Caddyshack DVD but ended up with a lab microscope instead

Wanted Caddyshack DVD but ended up with a lab microscope instead

September 23, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

This sums it up

Here is a quick summary paragraph if you don’t care about all the details.  This blog is about how I ended up purchasing a super discounted lab grade microscope because a blogger reminded me how badly I wanted to watch Caddyshack (popular 80s movie).

My incident with sale sites such as Ebay and Amazon is legendary, when my wife is out of town.  Those that follow my blog probably know about my 1973 Swedish military truck purchase and the carbon fiber wheelset purchase.   Yesterday started out innocent enough.  My wife is out of town and I’m out of town with my 2 boys, for a nice quiet weekend getaway.  Earlier in the week, I started having conversation over some 80’s movies.  It’s really hard to stop an 80’s discussion when it was such a nostalgic period for me.  Long story short, the conversation concluded with an urgency and a burning need to watch Caddyshack, ASAP.

My quest started with my local RedBox movie rental box on the way to the vacation…unfortunately, Caddyshack was not available.

I also checked the local grocery store near the hotel.  Luckily, they were having a big sale on all the old DVD movies! But, unfortunately, no Caddyshack showed up even after about 45minutes of probing and flipping through bottomless pit of old unwanted DVDs.  By then my two little boys were pissed at me for wasting their pool time…lol.  No biggie, I can always sign up for Hulu or Netflix and watch it when kids go down for bed…so I thought.

Kids had a wonderful pool time, fried chicken dinner, and ice-creamy (that what they call a good tasting ice cream).  Woo hoo, they went to bed and it was my time to fly!

I rush to get the laptop and my headset, lunge into my comfy bed, and I start putting all the pillows together to build a man-throne, I was set!

hurry…quickly…hulu+[cntrl & enter]…sign up for membership…search Caddyshack.  Damn! They only had trailers of the movie!

hurry…quickly…netflix+[cntrl & enter]…sign up for membership…search Caddyshack.  Double damn!! Bunch of golf swing videos and no Caddyshack the movie!

On to Bing search for ‘watch Caddyshack movie’.  Among all the questionable sites and torrents, I see a one result that was simply heavenly.  Amazon.com came up, I clicked on it, and sure enough they have streaming service, too!  Lucky me I am already a long time Amazon member, and $2.99 for 48hour streaming rental was very reasonable.

Everything was all downhill after that.  Time was 10:30pm and I figure I’ll just peruse through their deal page for few minutes.

Folks let me tell you about the deal they had on Amazon…it was a $1200 microscope that was on sale at over 80% off!  I had a few thoughts,

  1.  I didn’t know a microscope was so expensive
  2. I bet it will be fun to see what is in my drinking water
  3. I better buy it before it sells out

Followed by reasoning phase,

  1.  Why do I need a professional level microscope when a professional level water analysis is only $20?
  2. It’s huge and weights over 10lbs, where can I put it?
  3. What would the wife say when she finds out?

And lastly, the justification phase,

  1.  I need it because it can do more than just look at drinking water.  Maybe I can find a cure for certain blood disorder, or at least look at a fish tail when it gets ich disease.
  2. Well…we do have the dining room that never gets used.  I can probably put it on the corner of the table and nobody would even know it’s there.
  3. Maybe she’ll be proud I’m making positive progress buying things on Amazon and Ebay.  It’s probably better than the old 1973 Swedish military vehicle and all the carbon fiber goodies for my bicycle.  Microscope is educational and maybe it will encourage our boys to become a brain surgeon or a neuro-scientist, because their daddy took the heat for the microscope and stood up for their future! [insert ‘U.S.A…U.S.A’ chant here]

It was about 12am by the time the microscope was in the shopping cart and I’m thoroughly going through every single review on the scope.  I was really hoping to find the one comment that would explain why this thing was 83% off and why I need to back out of the deal.  Every reviewer was in full agreement that this scope does EVERYTHING.

The biggest coincident occurred when I got a reply comment from the same blogger that basically paved the way for me to get this microscope, reply comment came as I was putting my credit card info in the checkout box.  I had a chuckle with her explanation for this purchase on a whim,

‘THE ultimate man reason…. “because it was on sale” hahaha doesn’t matter WHAT it is….’

Christina is a wonderful blogger and she loves her Caddyshack and Spaceballs.  Check out her blogsite @

http://reconstructingchristina.com/

She asked if I saw the movie yet and it dawned on me, it was now about 1am and I was SUPPOSE to watch Caddyshack hours ago!  All I wanted to do for the evening was purchase the Caddyshack rental for $2.99, but somehow I ended up with a Lab LED Binocular Compound Microscope with Double Layer Mechanical Stage.

You guys are probably thinking the exact same thing I’m thinking right now; there is something wrong with this society when it’s so much easier to buy a lab grade microscope over one of the greatest comedy movies of all time…lol

My road trip back home should be interesting.  I have to train the boys to say the “right” thing. Three of us need to have a consistent story when mommy finds out whats in that brown smiley box from Amazon.  I will also make my wife a nice soothing Lipton tea, when the box arrives.  Did I mention I bundled the Lipton purchase with my microscope purchase?  144count tea bags for $3.99, it was 79% off 🙂

Not losing any more focus, this weekend isn’t over yet, and I will watch Caddyshack this evening!

Categories: children, family, humor, wife
  1. September 23, 2012 at 7:14 pm

    Hey Chris, are you familiar with the initials ADHD and their meaning?…just wondering…lol.

    Be encouraged!

    • September 23, 2012 at 7:46 pm

      Fortunately, I only show symptoms when the wife is out of town..lol.

      • September 23, 2012 at 7:52 pm

        That is awesome!…I think most guys show symptoms when their wives are in town… 🙂

        Be encouraged!

        • September 23, 2012 at 8:04 pm

          well…that can get really expensive, really fast…lol I think there is something that triggers the brain to buy something when it feels like its on a vacation. My medical term for this behavior is, “Timeshare purchase” syndrome…lol.

          • September 23, 2012 at 9:01 pm

            love the medical term…hahaha…be encouraged!

            • September 24, 2012 at 12:44 pm

              Sounds like you might have had few battles with those time share pushers, to know what I’m talking about…lol. I actually think the guys in Cancun are probably the most talented timeshare sellers in the world.

              • September 24, 2012 at 5:34 pm

                Yeah…and the weather and the white sandy beached don’t hurt either….hahaha…be encouraged!

  2. September 24, 2012 at 12:19 am

    I am laughing SO hard right now! First – Man-throne out of pillows ROFL then why on earth would you WANT to know what is in your drinking water haha I bet you won’t drink anymore once you do! Second – checking out a fish tail with ich disease LOL!! Oh man…..you sir, are THE highlight of my day today…I haven’t laughed this hard in a long long time!! 😀 Thank you for that and for including me in the reasoning behind your decadent purchase LOL!!! :p Oh….and Third – Niiiice call with the tea…something for her too…very very smooth indeed! :p

    I think now I’m going to have to watch Caddyshack again….don’t think I’ll be buying a microscope though…..already have one haha yes, I am that big of a geek!! And proud of it if I do say so myself. :p

    • September 26, 2012 at 10:44 am

      lol, you know how difficult it is to justify buying a lab grade microscope? Drinking water and fish tail were the first few things that popped into my head…lol. oh my goodness, what if I do get all paranoid about my drinking water system? how irritating would that be? lol.
      Glad to see you laugh, because you got some more laughters to catch up on 🙂
      Ofcourse I had to mention you in this blog, I need somebody to throw under the bus for my rash purchase…lol.
      Got the tea because, like somebody said, it was on SALE!
      Caddyshack was fun, I enjoyed every minute of it 🙂 I was laughing pretty good in the scene where Bill Murray is cleaning the pool, he finds the “poop”, and takes a bite out of it…rofl. oh my goodness that was good.
      So you have a microscope…so what does the geek from west coast do with her microscope? lol. Do you know whats in your drinking water? 🙂

      • September 26, 2012 at 4:51 pm

        I would highly recommend NOT looking at your drinking water ROFL :p Ingnorance is bliss….or curiousity killed the cat or something like that haha. Oh you are helping me catch up on the laughters LOL!! Thrown under the bus….oh I do love your humor!! 😀 Yay! I’m so glad you finally got to see it again lol…..that you finally fufilled your mission!

        LOL Tea on sale!!! Oh man….lots of laughter here 😀 !! Um….if I told you what I used my microscope for….I’d have to kill you rofl :p

        • September 26, 2012 at 10:53 pm

          OH Christina, I just have to look! I assure you this cat will always survive…lol. Looking at fish tail won’t be enough to justify the purchase.lol. I truly am glad you are getting the humor healing that you need, although I do think you are a very funny person to begin with 🙂
          You would not believe how relieved I was after I finished the movie, one happy clam here 🙂
          OOOh, a microscope SEEECRET! Thats what you call a one big geeky secret…lol. A geek’s secret doesn’t get any more geekier than that 🙂 I guess I’ll just be on standby and waiting patiently till it happens 🙂 oh hey hey, no need for violence on this site.lol

          • September 27, 2012 at 12:10 am

            LOL!! I’m sure you will survive, but the question is will you still drink the water? :p Well…you’re funnier 😉 I’m glad you’re a happy clam ~ ROFL!!!! Big geeky secret I LOVE that haha I am laughing so hard!! Oh no no, no violence I promise…you’re my best therapy 😀 !!

  3. September 25, 2012 at 9:27 am

    I have nothing to say about this… since if I hadn’t had Hubby with me the last time we went to the auto supply store, I’d be the proud owner of a hydraulic engine hoist. And it was ON SALE, too! Sigh.

    Enjoy Caddyshack – I watched it just a few weeks ago, when I was trying to kill the pocket gophers in my garden and was reminded of Bill Murray. 🙂

    • September 26, 2012 at 10:54 am

      Nothing to say? I thought you were going to ask me for the amazon link for the microscope, I’m sure you’ll figure out what you can use it for after you purchase it..lol.
      Thats pretty funny on your hydraulic hoist example. Just FYI, don’t ever attempt to pull a tree stump with your engine hoist if you ever do get it. Don’t ask me any further question on it, just don’t do it.
      Bill Murray was so good in Caddyshack. I was laughing so hard at his “poop” eating scene in that empty pool. He is in the full hazmat suit and takes a bite on the poop…lol. Still a funny classic scene to this day 🙂
      I think anybody that has a garden probably feels like Bill Murray sometimes 🙂

  4. September 25, 2012 at 3:56 pm

    Loving your twisted logic!

    • September 26, 2012 at 10:56 am

      it was lot of work and stress to watch caddyshack, thats for sure!

  5. September 26, 2012 at 10:06 am

    I laughed all the way through this blog.
    Loved Caddyshack have a copy and you can’t have it.

  6. September 26, 2012 at 11:00 am

    Glad you had fun with it. Its funny now because the deed has been done…lol. Isn’t it a good feeling knowing your copy of Caddyshack is as valuable as a $1200 microscope? hahaha. Believe it or not, I ended up purchasing the bluray version of caddyshack…oops, did I just one-up somebody? lol

  7. September 26, 2012 at 11:41 pm

    This is a story I am familiar with, except I splurge on geek stuff and t-shirts. At least when I get something for my husband as well, he’s not as angry. 😀

  8. September 26, 2012 at 11:48 pm

    awe…sounds like you got a keeper there 🙂
    its such a satifying feeling to know there are others who would have done the same thing..lol. Thanks for stopping by this evening and lending your support 🙂

  9. September 27, 2012 at 4:21 am

    Brilliant blog!
    Guided here by the wonderful Christina and envy you your purchase!
    My best buddy is 7 years old and has a non-industrial strength microscope which, after 5 minutes in the kitchen, pretty much comes with a guarantee that you will never eat anything ever again.
    Fruit, cheese, roast chicken, even bread – yeeeuuuukkkk!
    Absolutely wonderful!
    He comments on how revolting everything is as he transfers it from under the microscope into his mouth.
    Don’t worry, he says with irrefutable logic, it didn’t kill you yesterday.
    But then if you read the blog AnElephant is going to post later today you will realise that disgusting is pretty much par for the course.
    But, hey, you have two sons, you don’t need anyone to tell you this stuff!

    • September 27, 2012 at 11:41 am

      Guided by Jedi master Christina? You certainly can’t go wrong with that!
      lol@5 minutes in the kitchen. It may come down to putting everything under the microscope, so I can justify spending $200 bucks on it…lol. As long as there is nothing moving I’m fine with. And as long as “they” are cilia, and not legs, I’ll be kind of okay with.
      I love the logic of your buddy, and I can’t wait to check out what you’ll have on the topic later on today. Thanks again for stopping by.

  10. October 2, 2012 at 7:12 pm

    They do say that a man will spend twice as much on an item that he needs immediately, and a woman will buy something that she doesn’t need, providing it’s half off.

    • October 3, 2012 at 9:43 am

      lol, I would say there is clear roll reversal in my household. My wife has no issue paying retail on things that look good.lol. where I’m all about gettin it done that is fully functional for cheap as possible :)…if only you can see the difference between her office and my office.lol
      But of course mindset will change once it starts climbing to over 80% off 🙂
      Hey, your internet must be flying these days. My inbox has hard time keeping up with your new material 🙂

  11. cookiemomma
    October 5, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    Dude! 🙂 That’s all I can say..lol

    • October 6, 2012 at 8:43 am

      pretty impressive, eh? lol

  12. October 9, 2012 at 11:12 pm

    Geeks and Guys, Amazing! But really cool, funny and lots of fun! 🙂 (yes I know who I included in this!)

    • chris9911
      October 10, 2012 at 5:12 pm

      Hey Penny, its always exciting to get a visit from a ‘blog heavyweight’ 🙂 And I certainly know who you are referring to…lol. You got a whole herd of them around you…hahaha.

      • pennycoho
        October 10, 2012 at 5:14 pm

        Yes I do and loving it! 🙂

  13. December 19, 2012 at 5:15 pm

    Very funny post, Chris! I totally get distracted while I’m on Amazon, too. Love the 80’s classics also. Definitely that’s a nostalgic time for me as well. My husband Kurt loves Caddyshack and can watch it endlessly. Thanks for the humor and thanks so much for following Travel Oops!

  1. September 26, 2012 at 9:08 pm

speak up, can't hear you!

