Home > auto, camping, children, family, wife > Intense heat wave = please check your tire psi

Intense heat wave = please check your tire psi

This is a big travel week and I need raise this concern for people driving along regions affected by this crazy heat wave.  This is something that I noticed yesterday on my own truck and it is important enough for all of you that drive, to understand.  What you feel may only be 110-114degrees, but that’s nothing compared to what your tires feel going over that hot pavement.  I’m not going to go through the equations and theories on why gas expands when heated, they just do.  PLEASE PLEASE, check your tire pressure under two conditions:

  1.  Check it when its cool
  2. Check it after you’ve been driving for some time.

My tires are 44max psi.  I noticed they were at 55psi during this intense heat wave!! That is 20+psi ABOVE the recommended pressure when its cool!  Be sure to make sure your tire pressure stays safely below your maximum psi rating.  Happy 4th everybody, and safe driving.  Don’t be that guy/gal with a blown tire during this bizarre climate.

Categories: auto, camping, children, family, wife
  1. July 3, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    Yikes! Thanks for the heads-up, Chris. I always remember to add a bit of air in the winter here, but I tend to forget about the summer heat waves.

    • July 3, 2012 at 4:40 pm

      I’m probably going to spend the extra money and use nitrogen air to fill up my wife’s car. I can only imagine what might have happened if she was driving long distance with kids on board…sheesh.

      • July 3, 2012 at 4:44 pm

        *shudders*

        Your timing was perfect, by the way – I’m leaving on another 2400 km road trip on Thursday. 🙂

        • July 3, 2012 at 5:40 pm

          factory spec is 34psi for the oem set of tires when they are cool. I couldn’t believe it went up by +20psi due to this crazy weather!

          another 2400km road trip? man o man, you are just living the dream, aren’t you? lol. where you going with your fanny pack this time? 🙂

  2. July 4, 2012 at 7:34 am

    Holy! Is that really possible? Frightening. Thanks for thinking of our safety 🙂

    • July 4, 2012 at 10:11 am

      ofcourse, who else is gonna look out for my #3s? 😉

      • July 4, 2012 at 10:16 am

        Your what?

        • July 4, 2012 at 10:34 am

          I’m #1, family is #2, and you(my trustee bloggers) are #3. Yes, you are that special 🙂

  3. July 4, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    #3 reporting in…dude you shouldn’t have been driving the truck…where is the bike?..hahaha.

    On a more serious note…glad you are okay…and thanks for the note of caution…just checked my Saab tires this morning.

    BTW…Sagan is looking good…sucks to be Andy…glad to see Cancellara getting a few days in the yellow.

    Be encouraged!

    • July 4, 2012 at 1:19 pm

      It was a family camping trip and nobody has invented a safe tandem for 4, yet…lol. I checked everything over on the truck before we left for camping, but I guess nobody expected the roads to be THAT hot. The air from the tires felt like something from a hair dryer, I was surprised by how hot the gas was.
      Peter Sagan…man o man, where did this guy come from. 1st tour and he is 2for3, unbelievable. Cancellara was clearly surprised by Sagan’s performance, too. Did you see that amazing acceleration in stage1? That was one miserable looking climb to the finish! The “Forrest Gump” finishing move by Sagan was pretty funny. The kid has character.
      I am bummed out about Andy, Thor, & Contador, but as usual the Tour never disappoints. I am signed up for the NBC full tour Access and I’ve been watching the full race every night. I will say, it is so difficult to keep myself from reading any kind of cycling news throughout the day, don’t want to spoil the fun when I’m watching it in the evening.

      • July 4, 2012 at 6:25 pm

        Let’s just hope that “amazing acceleration” doesn’t turn into a “Floyd Affair.”

        Be encouraged!

        • July 6, 2012 at 7:53 pm

          I was watching the last 10seconds of stage5 race, the one where breakway almost had a chance to win, I couldn’t believe how fast Team Lotto was deliverying their man to the front line. The aerial shot of all this action was incredible! The leadout train made the lone sprinter on the left look as if he was going backward…lol. Makes you wonder if that is some sort of drug induced…lol. Lets all hope and pray there is no Floyd Affair with any of the winners. It is funny that you mention Floyd Landis, his team Phonak jersey was the first cycling jersey I ever bought.

          • July 7, 2012 at 4:52 pm

            Regarding that Phonak jersey…we all make mistakes. 🙂

            I don’t know maybe I’m just getting older, but the difference between the guys I ride with (I’m the old guy at at 57, they are all in their late 30s or early 40s) and what I see the pros do makes me feel like they are from another planet. The feeling intensifies when you watch them ride in person.

            I’ve watched CAT 4 & 5 riders for years, but the pros are simply on a level that I can’t even comprehend.

            I had a chance to ride with one of the guys doing the RAAM ride. I joined him when he was about half way across Indiana, so he had already ridden 2200 miles and had only slept about 3 hours over 5 days…and I couldn’t keep up…even drafting.

            Those riders were created by machines from another galaxy and placed in new born nurseries around the world…God only knows what happened to the ones they replaced. 🙂

            Be encouraged!

  4. July 11, 2012 at 3:16 pm

    This is crazy, thankfully enough it doesn’t get scorching hot out here too often !

    Stay safe – Safely driving !

  5. nannyknowitall
    August 11, 2012 at 8:44 pm

    thanks for the advice! my boyfriend tells me to do this all the time as he is one who checks his tire pressure all the time in the hot as well as cold weathers. We live in San Antonio Texas. Thankfully nothing like this has happened to him but after reading this, I will make sure to check my tire pressure from now on:)

    • August 11, 2012 at 8:49 pm

      Well, I think our crazy heatwave is finally over here in MD, but I’m sure you deal with something like this everyday where you are…lol.
      I’m usually very cautious with my family vehicle, especially before a big trip. I was shocked by how high the pressure went up by, even though I checked the pressure before the trip.
      Definitely check your pressure often and you might want to consider nitrogen enriched air for your tires, if you live in very hot area 🙂
      Thanks for visiting my site!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

speak up, can't hear you!

