Home > bicycle, camping, children, family, wife > Fun at Stonewall resort in WV (review)

Fun at Stonewall resort in WV (review)

I took a week off with my 2 boys and we went back to a place where it’s a guaranteed perfect vacation spot.  Here is my short summary of the resort:

I decided to write about my experience at this resort because we live in a world where people are quick to complain but not enough complements are given out.  I’ve already stayed here 4 times (in the past 14months) and it’s one of the best resorts I’ve ever stayed at.  It’s easy to find a resort that is pure family friendly, they are dime a dozen.  Its lot more difficult to find a resort that goes another big step further, and accommodates a vacationer who HAS to work during the vacation.  Haters can hate me and criticize me for working during family vacation, but I’m the one that has to put the food on the table, and that dang electric bill better be paid so the light turns on when my wife flips the switch at night.

There are 6 areas within the resort that are critical to my family’s enjoyment, they are:

  1.  Indoor pool
  2. Outdoor pool
  3. Hot jetted pools
  4. Restarurant #1
  5. Restaurant #2
  6. Kid’s activity area

All these locations are clustered together and it’s easy to migrate from one area to the next, if need be.  I have perfect line of sight, and all within audible range, to what my kids are doing from any of the mentioned locations.  There are comfy chairs and tables to accommodate my work package.  I also have direct line of sight to all my work stuff as I’m interacting with my kids, too.  All this adds to peace of mind and I don’t miss a beat.  Everything just flows from work to fun seamlessly.

I found this 1900acre BEAST of a resort hidden away in West Virginia that has earned the Four Diamond Award from AAA.  It’s so huge that it’s got its own separate waterfront campground, waterfront cabins, full marina, fishing bridge, 18hole Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Course, and 3 restaurants.  You might be saying, did he just say West Virginia?? Isn’t that where all the hicks hang out?

This resort couldn’t be further from the West Virginia stereotype.  All the staff and visitors are so friendly and I assure you they all speak the proper English.  It feels like visiting ummm…that Munchkin land from Wizard of Oz, with normal sized people though.  Everybody is smiling there.  Not just any ordinary smile but a radiant one from all the staff members.  There are visitors of many shapes and sizes.  Best way to describe the resort experience is, it feels alive! You can feel life there!  There are cute little kids bouncing around, there are great grandparents holding hands by the campfire, there are newly married honeymooners embracing by the dock, & everything in between.

Just because there are cute little kids there doesn’t mean people without kids are going to be shortchanged.  All the parents I’ve seen are very responsible and staff member are very strict about keeping things in order and enforcing the resort rules.  For example, when my kids jumped into the adult heated whirlpool, one of the staffers was on to them like a hornet on a stick wielding kid.  Let me repeat,

The staff members will STRICTLY enforce the, no kids in the hot pool rule!

I love kids, but just not in my whirlpool.  I wish I knew the name of the staffer that booted my kids from the whirlpool; I would have tipped her generously and would have given her boss a high review.

I’m kind of an uptight vacationer and I do embarrass my wife with all my complaints.  But as I said, I’ve vacationed here 4 times and I haven’t had a single incident.  When a resort does something so magical where it makes even the grumpiest vacationer happy, I will reward them.  I am extremely generous tipper, and I will tip like I’m gambling in Vegas when I’m jolly.

Lastly, I want to comment on their drinking water, because it is so clear and so crisp.  I have a nose for fishy water, probably from all the years of my aquarium hobby, but I’ve been to various high end restaurants where water smells funny.  I love the drinking water from all of Stonewall’s restaurants.  I think the water is so good to a point where it could be a bad for their business.  Why? Because I will not order my usual glass of Coke with my meal, when I’m at Stonewall.  Their drinking water is that good.

That’s my quick summary in a nutshell.  If you ever see a man with a portable Dell laptop and 2 rowdy little boys, stop by and say hi to me.   Now I’m going into the details that matters to me the most.

Pool

If you are vacationing with little kids, pool is a #1 priority.  Stonewall have a large heated indoor-outdoor pool.  Two pools are connected so the indoor side is warm and the outdoor side is cooler.  Also, there are two adult only whirlpools that are jetted and bubbly hot, it will instantly melt all your stress away.  Sometimes I’ll get in a repeating rhythm of working on my laptop for few hours followed by relaxing in a whirlpool for 10-15 minutes.  There is also a fitness area with changing room, complete with sauna and a steam room.

Foods

No such thing as a good resort without good food.  Exquisite food can only start with the freshest locally raised ingredients.  Their meats and veggies taste noticeably different than what I’m used to back home.  Burgers are amazing and they use traditional recipes on their other fine gourmet dishes.  Oh and kids under 8 eat for free!

Categories: bicycle, camping, children, family, wife
  1. June 29, 2012 at 8:51 am

    Wow, your vacation looks awesome! Maybe one day I will bring my little family there to enjoy as well at your little secret haven 😉

    All the pictures look tremendously convincing. I would be sold on the food & pool alone – it`s funny. Those were the two things that caught my eye.

    When it comes to working on vacation, hey – well at least it`s being done with some great scenery! LOL. I am sure your kids don`t mind as much as long they are having fun & you dedicate a time slot for them.

    && omg ! Vacation 4 times in the last 14 months! Lucky you, I would work on vacation time also – that job of yours seems to be treating you well. 🙂

    Work hard & play harder hahaha

    • June 29, 2012 at 12:22 pm

      Your future family will be perfect for this resort :). I forgot to mention the best part about the resort is its West Virginia pricing. They run promotions every now and then and it makes it even easier to book a stay here.
      lol @ your food and pool comment. I agree with that and it should be the “meat and potato” of all resorts…hahaha
      I’m glad you understand why its okay to work during vacation. It is defnitely better than not taking any vacation at all. Besides, there is tremendous joy in seeing your family have a good time 🙂
      funny you mention my job treating me well…lol. I had to cut my vacation short last night and had to drive home 😦 I got called into resolve some things for Friday…dang work strikes again! But 4 times in 14 months wouldn’t be possible if it were for the West Virginia rate 🙂
      I’m looking forward to seeing your family here in the future 🙂

      • June 29, 2012 at 5:03 pm

        Mhm Virginia pricing sounds good haha .

        & damn that sucks! Your vacation was cuz short :-/ No Bueno

        && haha that would be nice but by the time I have a lil family you would forget about me & prob. even this blog haha

        • July 2, 2012 at 11:54 am

          hopefully I’ll be back here again in the near future 🙂
          LOL @ lil family comment. I have no idea how blog community is going to shake out in the future, but it will be interesting to stay to see how everybody’s life evolve 🙂

  2. purpleowltree1234
    July 14, 2012 at 1:43 pm

    sounds like the PERfect working vacation spot. i love that you’re looking after your family so awesomely. glad you’re gettin in that whirlpool too. D. X

    • July 14, 2012 at 3:02 pm

      whirlpool with no kids in it..lol

  3. July 16, 2012 at 7:52 pm

    Looks beautiful!

    • July 16, 2012 at 7:56 pm

      definitely! Pictures don’t do justice. I’m actually trying to convince my wife to vacation here for our 10year anniversary, coming up 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

speak up, can't hear you!

