Home > bicycle > Leopard DC1 bike, my Ferrari on two wheels. (TDF celebration part1)

Leopard DC1 bike, my Ferrari on two wheels. (TDF celebration part1)

Summary:

I want to showcase my most favorite bicycle from my fleet of bikes, sorry Orbea 😦

This is a custom built climbing machine, built by yours truly, and it only has the components that has been certified by weight weenie federation of the world…lol.  I had an option to complete this project with the Shimano Dura-ace DI2 system, but I’m a firm believer in “light makes right” philosophy when it comes to bike building.  It currently does not meet the weight requirement, of 6.8kg/14.99 lb, set by International Cycling Union, but I am not racing in UCI sanctioned events and none of my riding competitors need to know how light my bike is…lol.  Some may say it’s cheating but I’m older and I need the technology to even the playing field among other better riders.  I don’t have the time and luxury of training everyday but what I do have is a credit card to purchase my “performance in a box”, I order parts and it arrives in 2 days.

My Race stat:

The last competitive race was back in 8/8/2011 for a duathlon race, and here is the result of it.

The machine spec:

Without further adieu, I present to you my Ferrari on two wheels, Leo-pard DC1:

  1. Bottle Cage:  44 Bontrager XXX carbon holders w/bolts
  2. Rear Brakes:  130 SRAM Red
  3. Front Brakes:  135 SRAM Red
  4. cable adjuster: 6
  5. cable housing: 54
  6. Cables:  100
  7. Cassette: 106 SRAM Red
  8. Chain:   255 SRAM Red
  9. Crankset: 720 Token Carbon 170mm, 53/39, bb, rings, bolts, arms, cups,
  10. Derlr (Front): 71 SRAM Red
  11. f derl hanger: 31
  12. Derlr (Rear): 139 SRAM Red
  13. Fork:  380 taper Leopard Carbon
  14. Frame:   876 53cm 2010 Leopard DC1
  15. Grips:  39
  16. Handlebar:  192 Ergonova 3T Pro Team Carbon Handlebar 42cm
  17. Stem:   100 edge 110mm
  18. Headset:  138  Headset Cap/Bolt:0 with fork Headset Spacer: 0 with fork
  19. Quick Releases: 89 Zipp
  20. Seat Binder:  20
  21. Seat:   103 custom full carbon-carbon
  22. Seatpost:  156 Exotic carbon
  23. Shifters:  293 SRAM Red
  24. Tire (Front) 215 tufo s3 215 tubular
  25. Tire (Rear): 215 tufo s3 215 tubular
  26. wheel (Front): 480 Reynolds cirro sv carbon
  27. wheel (Rear): 685 Reynolds cirro sv carbon

Total weight w/o pedals: 5772 grams or   12.7 pound

Categories: bicycle
  1. June 18, 2012 at 6:46 pm

    I’m drooling…12.7 lbs is awesome…thanks for sharing…and should you ever want to swap your bike for me cleaning your home every day for the next 17 years, I’m game. 🙂

    Be encouraged!

    • June 18, 2012 at 7:42 pm

      lol, I had a feeling you would be the only commenter on this one. I actually dd this for “Lomax’s bike of the week” column, but now he is M.I.A.
      What bike do you ride? or I guess in your case, your running shoes might cost more than the bike 🙂

  2. June 19, 2012 at 7:31 pm

    lol, wow that is awesome! Your taking full advantage of the technology, huh?1 I would too. But, I am sure you would just as fine w/o one so equipped. You seem to be so passionate about everything you do, I have no doubt about your success!

    Best of luck to you in the race! I wish I had a hobby like that would keep me fit and active!

    • June 20, 2012 at 10:06 am

      When you get to my age, you look forward to events where you have an opportunity to beat the snot out youn’uns…lol. Lot of these endurance events tend to be decided by seconds & miliseconds; in other words, every gram counts 🙂
      lol @ “..I wish I had a hobby like that that would keep me fit…” I don’t think you need to worry about that for another 10-15years :). Besides, you seem to be the type that is naturally blessed where you don’t have to exercise and you still look great!
      I still need to go over to your side and comment back on your relatives opinion about your one-and-only 🙂

      • August 26, 2012 at 6:22 pm

        lol I wish it would be 10-15 yrs from now but it seems to have hit me at an early age somewhat .. haha it could be my eating habits also i guess .. too busy to keep a committed diet

  3. purpleowltree1234
    July 14, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    i really don’t know crap about bikes. but i do think the LOOK of this bike is better than Jenny Fletcher’s Orbea. her bike looks out of proprotion. yours looks just right. n I love it in red n black- my favourite colours!!!!! 😀 Miss D. X

    • July 14, 2012 at 3:09 pm

      why thank you very much. you might have better taste than your roommate, Rach…lol. I dont think she evere complemented the color scheme of my bike yet..lol.
      In terms of bike differences, mine is a climbing bike built for climbing hills. Jenny’s time trial bike is mainly for flat and straight roads.

  4. purpleowltree1234
    July 14, 2012 at 2:03 pm

    ps just how OLD are you???? (I’m 16 in a 38 yr old body on the outside) Miss D. X

    • July 14, 2012 at 3:11 pm

      lol, details details details…

      • purpleowltree1234
        July 14, 2012 at 7:29 pm

        LOL!!!!!!! Now it’s even more of a quest of mine to determine your age!!! A man of mYstery. D. X

        • July 14, 2012 at 9:10 pm

          Just let it be Miss D, just let it be…lol. Besides, shouldn’t you be busy looking for that cat of yours? lol

          • purpleowltree1234
            July 14, 2012 at 9:55 pm

            now you’re treatin me like a toddler who is easily distracted. LOL it’s Rach’s cat any how. n he went missing from her mom’s house, so I can’t go walking the streets around our new house to find him. have checked back at our old house there, n he didn’t come when I called. this still leaves me with the hunt for your age. D. X

            • July 14, 2012 at 10:03 pm

              You would be a real hero if you found the cat for her. She’ll never criticize you ever again 🙂
              why focus on miniscule detail when there is so much more to explore? 🙂

  5. purpleowltree1234
    July 14, 2012 at 10:26 pm

    you’re doin an awesome job of adding fuel to my fire. 🙂 D. X

  6. frankee
    December 29, 2012 at 1:33 pm

    this bike is really nice good shape awesome

    • December 30, 2012 at 10:21 pm

      Thanks. Can’t wait till weather gets warmer

  7. jadenotes
    August 4, 2013 at 12:36 am

    Wow 🙂 This looks quite fast!

    • August 4, 2013 at 11:19 pm

      There are times I feel it deserves a better rider.lol

  1. No trackbacks yet.

speak up, can't hear you!

