Home > children, family, wife > No such thing as wasted time (father & son)

No such thing as wasted time (father & son)

This is a very compelling 4minute video if you are a busy father and sometimes feel guilty about not doing enough for the family.  I admit this short clip made me little teary eyed.  Luckily I watched it while no one was around.  I think about all the times I blow my oldest son off, while I’m working on various projects around the house, because either I feel cranky or I feel he is going to slow me down and waste everybody’s time.  This video was brought to my attention by a wonderful blogger named Stormlover.  I can’t thank her enough for this short clip that basically re-energized my mental capacity for dealing with my kids. 

To a child- love is spelled T-I-M-E

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zfZhReSOP9w&feature=youtu.be

Categories: children, family, wife
  1. May 18, 2012 at 10:10 pm

    Thanks for the mention Chris. 🙂 I’m sure you’ll find some of the other inspirational videos on that website are just as profound.

    • May 18, 2012 at 10:37 pm

      oh my goodness, I can only handle one emotional video/year. Or else I will have to turn in my man-card..lol

      • May 18, 2012 at 10:41 pm

        LOL! Okay, just go to the pic sites I posted on my blog today and have some fun then.
        Life’s too short not to laugh. Enjoy my friend.
        HUG your wife and kids extra tight tonight. You are blessed with an incredible family.
        Bless,
        Lee

        • May 18, 2012 at 10:55 pm

          It’s 11pm here and I just got back from my other work, they are all sleeping :(. Guess there is always tomorrow.
          Tell you what, just when I think I have a blessed family, my kids get little older, little stronger, & little smarter to really drive me nutz…lol. But you know what I mean 🙂

  2. May 19, 2012 at 9:30 pm

    So true, when we grow up we don’t think of money or material things other than the first bike and that sort of thing. It’s the time we spent together that matters most and it’s the time you spend with your wife and your children that you’ll remember later on as well. Chris I always appreciate your honesty!

    • May 19, 2012 at 10:00 pm

      Well well well, now here is a face I haven’t seen in AGES! lol. I’m guessing things are somewhat returning to normal? I was just about ready to start a blog titled “Losing a friend to fame and fortune”…lol. Time to start a different topic.

  3. May 20, 2012 at 11:31 am

    lolol!! Sorry! Nope, not to fame but to back injury and I’m just back from a trip to the beach-was on Folly Island for the past week with very weak or non-existent wi-fi! You crack me up though! Nice to know I was missed : )

    • May 20, 2012 at 12:33 pm

      Cool, I hope you had a relaxing vacation! Folly Island sounds nice. I am glad wi-fi was non existent, how else you gonna unwind and get away from it all? lol. Of course you were missed by all your adoring fans 🙂

  4. purpleowltree1234
    May 28, 2012 at 6:44 am

    hey you, i feel like a fish out of water here on your blog. Gota read it!!! Rach told me to tell you Anna’s pic is up as our profile pic (I complained to Rach about it being Rach on our profile pic) for Gravatar. actually, maybe it’s not. Maybe I didn’t do it right lol I see Rach smilin at me still here! LOL Don’t know why the hell Rach wanted you to see Anna’s pic. I hope it makes more sense to you than it does to me. Rach is a nut. lol ya gota laugh. Miss D. X

    • May 28, 2012 at 11:53 am

      lol, yeah, I noticed the new gravatar, I actually thought Anna was the person on the left, not the right…lol. Picture is worth a 1000 words, so I appreciate it 🙂 This is getting pretty fun because it feels like the party is forming, one person but so many people..lol. Thanks for visiting my site and you know Rach is not a nut…lol. but I am laughting 🙂

      • purpleowltree1234
        May 28, 2012 at 1:19 pm

        huh? I so don’t get what is going on with Anna n Rach n you LOL. I’m gonna change our avatar now!! it’s creeping me out seeing Anna smilin back at me now! lol MIss D. X

        • May 28, 2012 at 2:38 pm

          lol, don’t know either but you guys are all a fun bunch 🙂
          Is the new avatar your creative handy work?

          • purpleowltree1234
            May 28, 2012 at 2:45 pm

            yeah 🙂
            D. X

  5. purpleowltree1234
    May 28, 2012 at 6:53 am

    ok there’s Anna now. I put her n Rach up as our header too. same day photos. Anna’s gona think it’s weird we’ve got a pic of her as our avatar. wtf Rach?! Do you have any idea why Rach wants to show you a pic of Anna? I’m stumped. You get used to weird left field stuff like this living with others. Miss D. X

    • May 28, 2012 at 11:54 am

      I guess blue is Anna’s favorite color? 🙂

      • purpleowltree1234
        May 28, 2012 at 1:17 pm

        I think so 🙂 D. X

  6. purpleowltree1234
    June 4, 2012 at 10:13 am

    Haha, I’m back. 🙂 Hi Chris! I see Delilah showed you Anna’s pic. She’s the seriously Christian V friend of mine who might be interested in your V friend. 😉 Hehee.
    I miss you! I’m glad there are new posts here for me to check out. It feels like I’ve been away for months this time, I’m still very disoriented.
    Time with young kids is how they bond. Frequent, regular time. Doesn’t have to be long stretches of time, just regular and frequent. This is what everyone told Greg and I when we separated. Useful to know.
    I’m probably heading back into hospital tomorrow, or maybe the next day, depending on bed availability. Will take the laptop and USB modem so will still be around here.
    I hope you’ve had an awesome weeknd.
    Love from Rach.

    • June 4, 2012 at 3:45 pm

      well…bout time you got back from whatever you were doing…lol. Deliah went to town with your website and pics 🙂
      Ben has been pretty occupied with his current young GF. I know its rude thing to say, but we tell him that he looks like her father when they hang out together. I hope Greg is doing great with your daughter.
      My weekend is always a whirlwind of activities. I made it though that and it starts all over again..lol. Good luck at the hospital!

  7. June 5, 2012 at 4:12 pm

    I don’t even have kids, and that was great. I suppose I could apply it loosely to my cat?

    • June 9, 2012 at 9:22 pm

      Cats and dogs are family, too 🙂

  8. June 9, 2012 at 11:28 am

    wow man….thanks for sharing….i teared up………im not even a crier,,,,but it was touching and beautifully done. 🙂

    • June 9, 2012 at 9:51 pm

      I’m not sure about you, but it was a strange feeling for me to tear up over a youtube video like that.

  9. June 10, 2012 at 9:05 pm

    I just thought of something! I barely have any photo albums or journals. Every since everything went digital (which was like, when I was 10) all my photos are online and all my “journal* entries are in my blog. I need to print out everything and put it in the attic so one day I can also have a real, heartfelt moment like this. 😛

    • June 10, 2012 at 11:45 pm

      And you just reminded me of something. I actually tried taking pen and paper to write something down, and my handwriting looked like crap! I have forgotten how to write. Darn technology!

      Just curious, who would you want reading your attic material?

      • June 11, 2012 at 8:53 am

        My handwriting is so crappy too! Although in design school they made us practice lettering (I failed a few handwriting assignments).

        I hope my mom will one day read my “attic” material, and maybe I will read hers as well. She reminds me a bit of the dad in the video. I used to fight with her all the time when I was younger (then again, what teenage daughter doesn’t fight with her mom?) but now we get along pretty well. Yet I think despite our strong relationship we don’t really understand each other and we are always so bad at communicating. I think, also, somethings are difficult to put into words as well, like when she cried at my graduation last week which definitely surprised me since she spent most of her time criticizing me over the past four years. So perhaps the way for us to understand each other is not through words.

        • June 11, 2012 at 6:24 pm

          I went to my attic and pulled out some of my notes that I took while I was in college and I can’t believe I used to write that well, I was impressed. Thank goodness I have little kids that are learning their A, B, C’s. I’m supposedly teaching them but I’m really learning for myself…lol.
          You have verbal argument with someone? NO WAY, I didn’t see that one coming 🙂 I’m sure your mom gives you full credit for all her grey hair…haha. But joking aside, it must be great having a great bond with your mom. Looking back, I’m sure most of those fights are pretty funny to you now 🙂
          Congratz on your graduation last week! I didn’t send you any graduation gift because I didn’t get the memo in time 🙂 How is the job market for college grads these days?

  10. June 12, 2012 at 9:37 am

    Lol, actually both of my parents don’t have too much grey hair yet. I guess I’ve been a fantastic child! Although my mom definitely gives me full credit for her back pain, weight loss and constant headaches. 😛

    So far my job hunting experience has been good, but I can’t speak for everyone. I would say, despite tough economic situations, the job market for designers and architects is still in steady demand, which is why a few friends from school and I got jobs before we finished school (I started work three weeks ago and it’s been great!). However, I would say only about 20-30% of my graduating class has landed work in the industry so far, most are still looking. But it’s only the beginning of summer, so we will see. Before 2008 though, the majority of people in graduating classes from my program land jobs right away. From what I hear, many people didn’t even have to go to interviews, instead got job offers while still in school and got to take their best pick upon graduation. Whereas I sent out 5-10 resumes a weeks and went to a dozen interviews as well.

    • June 12, 2012 at 1:05 pm

      Well, that is great you were able to find a job so easily. Your parents must be very proud, but I’m sorry to hear about your mom’s back, I know what that feels like. Acutally, I blame my back problem on my kids, too! Dang heavy little rugrats!
      Need for talented creative designer is definitely in demand. Any product that is purely functional is dead in the water nowadays. Its no secret that “sex” sells and its up to good designer folks to make the product look “hot”. Now that you are in the industry, I’m sure you’ll get to attend your share of design shows in your little booth. Just make sure nobody takes picture from the back….lol.

      • June 12, 2012 at 2:44 pm

        LOL. I’ve actually worked a few trade shows in the past few years already. No one (that I know of) has taken a picture of my butt yet, but if they do and think it looks great, whatever, I’d be flattered. lol.

        • June 12, 2012 at 4:06 pm

          haha, you have a great sense of humor. My wife had another sleeze-ball incident, similar to the vegatable laday story, at a train station. She turned in a fat greasy guy taking pictures of people’s rear end with his camera phone. My wife is relentless when it comes to looking out for innocent women…lol. Sometimes I wish she would just “let it go” 😦

  1. No trackbacks yet.

speak up, can't hear you!

