Home > humor, Uncategorized > Bloggers rules of engagement: standard procedure draft “A”

Bloggers rules of engagement: standard procedure draft “A”

Do commenters make you feel like this?

I love reading through other people’s blog, leave comments, and occasionally hit those like buttons.  But just like all things in life, you realize one size doesn’t fit all.  I came across a very powerful blog where the writer was venting off about some of the ways readers were interacting with this blogger’s website.  Let’s just hypothetically say his/her name is Rousseau.  Keep in mind, just because I’m referring to the blogger as Rousseau does not mean it’s necessarily a French sounding woman, because it can be any talented blogger, male or female.  I just picked that name after my favorite prime time TV series, LOST :).  Anyway, she was venting off regarding some “mediocre” comments left by one some of her readers and supposedly people hitting the like button when they didn’t even read anything.  I personally don’t care what viewers do when they come to my site, I’m still in shock that people swing by to look through my crap…lol.  But in her defense, she is a very good blogger and she probably gets ton of emails, comments, and the like hits.  She also had plenty of comments that supported her venting.

I tend to view everybody blog site like it’s his/her personal home.  I go into their home and I need to have a proper etiquette.  Every house may have its own variance and rules that may differ from other homes, but I must respect it.

I’m wondering if it’s worthwhile to create a page dedicated to going over some “house rules” for guests.  It would be a sad situation if Joe Blow enters Rousseau’s blog page and leaves a comment about how good her title font is, hits the like button, and he gets blasted by her.  There is enough anger and resentment in this world as is, do we really need to create more?  If this “house rule” page can save the life of one Joe Blow from being blasted, it would be worth it!

Another reason to support the house-rule page, it can prevent the “throttle back condition” that may result.  For example, you want to leave somebody a comment, but you want to be cautious and not be the first one to comment on the topic.  Wouldn’t it be great to eliminate the uncertainty before you start diving into somebody’s blog?

I don’t want to be political here but we are dealing with a political hot potato of “Pro choice vs., Pro restriction” 🙂

Do you think Rousseau’s assumptions should be common sense, or do you think some rules should be documented on the main page?  I would have loved to link Rousseau’s blog here, but I wasn’t sure if there are some release forms I need to fill out before I can do something like that.  During tough times like this, it’s better to “throttle back when you get near a door” than to be caught in a middle of a controversy 🙂

Categories: humor, Uncategorized
  1. April 18, 2012 at 6:26 pm

    Wow! Mediocre comments and likes without reading? #stuckupbitchproblems

    • April 18, 2012 at 7:04 pm

      hmmmm, normally I would censor out certain portion of your statement, but since this topic is about comments and regulations, I will leave it as is and see where it goes. But all in all, thanks for stopping by today and leaving a comment, because I like comments and all the “like” hits! It shows you have just sacraficed your precious time to my blog. Have you ever run into bloggers of this nature before? Maybe its an evolution from when you start as entry level blogger to an elite celebrity level blogger…lol

  2. April 18, 2012 at 10:01 pm

    I agree – when anyone comes across my page I am thanful whether or not it is a simple click or a “like”. I would much rather engage in commentary but the fact that someone has taken the time to read my blog is satisfaction enough!

    • April 18, 2012 at 10:20 pm

      Absolutely! Thanks for stopping by. You realize you have just given a green light to everybody to go in and spam your blog with comments and “like” hits…lol

      • April 18, 2012 at 10:23 pm

        lmao. Well I would hope so, my blog is pretty lonely 😦 hahaha .. Click & Comment awayyy !! =)

        It would be good spam not the nonsense I would want to delete or skim over hehehe

        • April 18, 2012 at 10:31 pm

          lol, lets just wait and see what happens to you after you get some series of awards and start getting famous here…lol. I got you on record now 🙂

          • April 18, 2012 at 10:47 pm

            Lol I am flattered but your the one with the 3,000+ blog hits.

            Remember us little people 😉

            • April 18, 2012 at 11:00 pm

              I recently learned Justin Bieber has over 700m hits, so 3k is chump change…lol
              Besides I can’t take all the credit. I’ll just say, people apparently LOVE Brad Pitt. Brad deserves credit for at least 1500hits out of that 3000…lol

  3. April 18, 2012 at 10:53 pm

    I’m not quite sure how s/he decides which comments are mediocre. I appreciate anyone who takes the time to comment on my blog (even if sometimes the comments make me think “Whaa…?”).

    “Likes” make me happy, too. I follow a lot of bloggers, I own a business, I’m working on my 5th book, and I have a life. For my blogging buddies who post daily, I often drop a “Like” on their post to let them know I read and enjoyed it, but I don’t have time to comment every single day. When I get a “Like” from one of my regular readers, I know they’re in the same boat.

    And a “Like” from a one-time visitor is still better than a slap in the face with a dead fish. 🙂

    • April 18, 2012 at 11:06 pm

      Based on some of their comments, you can kinda estimate it using some charts and figures from your control panel. I got a long way to go before I start figuring that kind of stuff out. I just leared about creating new pages on my WordPress, only few days ago…lol.
      Please let me know about your business website, so I can go check it out. I bet its motorcycle related :)…oooooh

      Thanks for stopping by and I love your non-mediocre comment!

      • April 19, 2012 at 10:15 am

        Sadly, no, it’s not motorcycle related, though I’ve always secretly wanted to own a speed shop. Reality is much more prosaic: I run a computer training business. There’s a link on my About page if you really want to know, but most people would rather go to the dentist than talk about computers. Sigh. This is why I write fiction.

        • April 19, 2012 at 11:38 am

          Well, its definitely not as exciting as a speed shop but its pretty cool. I love computers! infact, its the reason why I started blogging in the first place. I will definitely check out your About page on that one 🙂

    • June 13, 2012 at 11:07 pm

      Very well said Diane! Kudos! I totally agree.
      Likes are always better than a slap in the face 😉

  4. April 18, 2012 at 10:57 pm

    Hmm biting the hand that reads you….kind of rude, especially as blogging infers that you don’t mind people contributing in one way or another.

    • April 18, 2012 at 11:20 pm

      lol at “…biting the hands that reads you…”. that was pretty awesome. I always try to give people benefit of the doubt. The person has a great blog and I do follow it regularly(did i spell this right?). I really do assume this person is too busy with all the comments and stuff. But, you don’t have to worry about that in my lil “chris9911 blog hut”…lol. We got low overhead and highest customer satifaction rating!

    • April 21, 2012 at 10:52 pm

      classic line: “hand that reads you”

      thanks for keeping us customers happy Chris!

      • April 22, 2012 at 1:27 am

        you gotta check out her blog when you get a chance. She has lots of witty lines that just cracks you up.

        • April 22, 2012 at 1:53 am

          I made my way over there earlier tonight…you are right…I was laughing so hard at her “crumpet” story I literally had tears

          • April 22, 2012 at 11:23 am

            The concept of “blog networking” has got to be one of my favorite activities here. Its a guarantee to find another great blogger by simply going through a blogger that you know and trust. I picked up on some more great bloggers, thanks to all the comments in your blog site.

  5. April 21, 2012 at 10:50 pm

    LOL…man I’m “liking” and commenting on this one! And I don’t care how much you blast me for doing it!

    Seriously, these people were just being nice to the woman it seems to me, and she can’t return the courtesy?!?

    Glad you referenced LOST….great show! Did you watch “the river” this year? It was decent…no where in the same category as LOST though.

    • April 22, 2012 at 1:26 am

      keep it coming, my friend. No blasting coming from my end..lol
      I really think she is just a really busy woman. All the awards and recogniction can change people…hint hint…lol. Gratz on all your recognition this month!

      man, wasn’t LOST great? my wife and I went into a serious withdrawal when the series ended. And I don’t care what everybody else say, the final episode was amazing! I haven’t watched any tv series since Lost. Lost has set the bar so high, its hard to watch something from point of view of enjoyment, its always in comparison to Lost 😦

      • April 22, 2012 at 1:52 am

        You must not be the typical guy at all…I’ve always got some kind of blast coming out of my “end”…lol

        You know, funny you are throwing some hints my way…I’ve been meaning to tag you in that award thing and just haven’t gotten around to it. I’ll take care of that very soon….but no worries…you were already high on the list.

        • April 22, 2012 at 11:18 am

          oh, you mean the “bl-ast”..lol. I usually blame the wife on that one, especially if she decides we need to have lots and lots of vegatables..lol. I know she secretly loves it when I seal her up inside our blanket after the deed…lol.
          Thanks in advance for the consideration of “tag”, it sounds like a good deal!

  6. April 23, 2012 at 7:50 am

    I get a smile on my face whenever someone likes my post or comments. I while ago I was reading someone’s blog and she was just like the person you mentioned. Told someone that said they loved her post not to comment if they weren’t going to give her useful information. I don’t like rude people like that especially when she should be thankful that someone took the time to stop by and say something nice about it.

    • April 23, 2012 at 2:24 pm

      yeah, you know exactly what I’m talking about. There are handful of these folks in this blog world. Wouldn’t it be funny if they somehow turn out to be the most nicest person in the world, in real life? lol

      • April 25, 2012 at 6:25 am

        Well everyone has a little bit of kindness in them. Some people you just have to push to get it out though lol.

  7. cookiemomma
    April 26, 2012 at 6:33 pm

    I am totally guilty of blog surfing and sometimes just stopping by because the pics caught my eye. Even though I may not have read the full content I genuinely liked the pictures. Is there a rule that you can’t like the blog unless you like both the pictures and the words? Frustrating!

    • April 26, 2012 at 6:41 pm

      rofl. I’ll be happy and thankful even if you made a comment about my word font or how certain bold looks goods against non-bolded word…lol. thanks for stopping by

  8. cookiemomma
    April 26, 2012 at 6:46 pm

    You’re welcome. Your blog has become one of my favorites!

    • April 26, 2012 at 7:29 pm

      I got a good one for you. You know that someone is one of your favorite bloggers when you learned how to bake a princess castle cake, and you don’t even have a daughter!

  9. cookiemomma
    April 26, 2012 at 7:38 pm

    Haha! I’m totally honored. The cake can easily be turned into Hogwarts or a Knight’s castle in a cool midevil themed party!

    • April 26, 2012 at 10:11 pm

      lol, very cool 🙂 I’m gonna bring it up on the next kid’s birthday party, when all the moms are gathered 🙂

  10. April 27, 2012 at 4:58 am

    I love commenters engaging with my content. And I like to let folks know that I read and thought about what they said.

    • April 27, 2012 at 9:39 am

      Sir, you sound like my kind of commenter!

  11. April 27, 2012 at 5:57 pm

    Ahahahahahahaha… But seriously though. Haha… Still Laughing.

    • April 27, 2012 at 11:50 pm

      lol, anybody ever tell you your laughter is contagious? If I created a poll to see how many people burst out laughing after reading your comment, it would be pretty darn near 100%. Glad you are back in blogging world once again!

  12. purpleowltree1234
    May 8, 2012 at 3:03 am

    Not sure what you wrote but I liked your title font and the birdy picture! ha!! Just joking.
    I’ve laid out some ground rules for readers of my Blog. 🙂 And as you have so kindly pointed out to me that I left my “About” blank, I’ve just today moved these ground rules into my “About”. 🙂 hehee..
    I think if you really want specific etiquette followed on your Blog, you need to spell it out. And then too, you need to understand not everyone is going to read that bit anyway, or they might forget. So they might not follow it anyway.
    One of the delights about Blogging and having anyone at all read it (or look at your pictures), is you get the opportunity for candid, varied responses. I think the less readers are corralled into how they must respond, the more authentic responses you get. There’s a beauty in that.
    It would be fun to write a list of etiquette to follow for the average Blog surfer. I’m thinking Dana could make it quite hysterical! 🙂
    It’s always interesting what drives people nuts.. and it almost always says more about them than it says about the person they go nuts at.
    I like this post. 🙂
    Love from Rach

    • May 8, 2012 at 9:49 pm

      lol, i have a hunch you are not the type of person that will get criticized for mediocre comments, on any level! Your comments, in my website, has been tremendous. I’m actaully dying to check out what you did on with your blog site. I will head over ASAP 🙂

      • purpleowltree1234
        May 8, 2012 at 10:46 pm

        🙂 Aww, shucks! Thank you! 🙂 It’s just so Fun getting to know you through your Blog! 🙂
        Rach.

        • May 8, 2012 at 10:59 pm

          work life is tough, blog life should be fun 🙂 what do you think?

  13. July 27, 2012 at 7:37 am

    The fact that a fellow blogger (not a spammer) stops by, reads a post, likes the post, and leaves a comment should be cause for celebration not abuse of the visitor. How quickly some of us forget when our self-importance in the blogosphere goes to our head because we now have a steady stream of supporters, and we want visitors to genuflect before us with brilliant comments and pizzazz. Please… What a shame and total disregard that bloated blogger showed our fellow bloggers. I enjoyed your post and I appreciate all comments and Likes… 😉
    Eliz

    • July 27, 2012 at 10:03 am

      Couldn’t have said it better myself! You would think its a common courtesy to respect the fact somebody took the time out to see your material, or even notice your font characters 🙂
      Oh, and I see that you followed up this wonderful comment with a 1-2 (comment + like hit), my favorite combo of all 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by, looking forward to seeing your material soon.

      • July 27, 2012 at 10:22 am

        You are welcome! 🙂

  14. Peaches
    August 1, 2012 at 9:22 pm

    Somebody complained about comments. Geeze….get a grip. That rules page isn’t a horrible idea though. I know there is another blogger who does it already. (I am not promoting my blog here. This isn’t my link.)

    Here is the link to his blog: http://crabbyoldfart.wordpress.com/comment-policy/

    • August 1, 2012 at 9:33 pm

      and I ran into another blog of the same topic on someone elese’s site. It is amazing what fame and glory will do to you…lol. thanks for visiting.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

speak up, can't hear you!

