Home > family, humor, music > I am flabbergasted by this Guns n’ roses comparison

I am flabbergasted by this Guns n’ roses comparison

 

I’m sitting down with my lunch buddies and we somehow end up talking about a musician named Justin Bieber.  I don’t know anything about this person but my friend’s daughter is really in to him.  Anyway, we start talking numbers.  His music video supposedly has over 720million hits on YouTube.  At this point that number doesn’t mean anything, how does other famous musicians compare? I get back to my desk and I start pulling up info on what I consider to be the greatest musicians of my personal lifetime, Gun n’ Roses.  I can go on about how I wanted to be just like Slash, but truth be known, I’m of the wrong shade and my hair just cannot look like his.  If there ever was a moment where I wanted to smoke, it would have been with torn jeans, top hat, and a 6string.

Back to numbers on Guns N’ Roses:  Paradise city @ 27.5million, November rain 88m, Sweet child o’ mine 43m, Welcome to the jungle 20m, Patience 19m.  It’s nowhere near the 720million number, what the heck going on here?!  Maybe this Bieber guy is the next Beatles.  So on with pulling more numbers.

View numbers on the Beatles: Let it be @ 9million, Hey Jude @ 5m, Imagine @ 6m, Yesterday @ 10m, I want to hold your hand @ 20m, Help @ 20m.

How can this be? Mr.Bieber’s number is much greater than all these top songs combined???!!!  Beatles and Guns n’ Roses have been around lot longer than Justin Bieber, so you would think they would have bigger numbers. 

Now, I am not ignorant and I certainly wasn’t going to disrespect Mr.Bieber just because he is of different era/generation.  Maybe the guy is the next big thing? Maybe he is an amazing musician? Maybe I will like it.  After all, how can 720million viewers be wrong, right?

I found the video of Mr.Bieber; I listened and watched it for about 37seconds(includes Youtube’s 15s ad).  I’m just going to write, in verbatim, exactly what I said to myself,

“…omg, Lord help us all…sigh”

All I did was graduate from college, get married, and have two kids.  I wake up one day and I realize Guns n Roses is classic rock and Justin Bieber is the new Beatles.  I’m having a rough day, folks.

My taxes are going bad, just realized the world and people have changed a lot, and Gun n’ roses will not be reuniting for the Rock n’ roll hall of fame this weekend; Axle Rose still can’t get along with Slash. 

Maybe I should try out that cigarette while wearing a top hat.

Categories: family, humor, music
  1. April 14, 2012 at 2:46 am

    Well you forgot to put into perspective that all the teenage girls and under are in love with Justin Bieber which tends to bring numbers up a lot lol. I personally miss the 80’s-90’s music days and even though I’m only 23 I’m a big fan of Guns N Roses. I even have a Guns N Roses Tattoo that I got when I was 19 lol. But my dad got me started in Rock music at a young age.

    • April 14, 2012 at 8:56 am

      I did think about the teenage girl factor, but I didn’t realize it would make astronomical difference like that..lol. Looks like you had one cool dad 🙂

      • April 14, 2012 at 12:10 pm

        Yes I did. My dad’s the coolest but I dress like a girl but like to play like a guy lol. My dad takes me shooting whenever I’m in town and he used to work me like a man growing up.

        • April 14, 2012 at 2:48 pm

          hmmm, that sounds like a beginning of a great blog 🙂

  2. April 14, 2012 at 9:25 am

    LifeWorthLiving :

    Well you forgot to put into perspective that all the teenage girls and under are in love with Justin Bieber which tends to bring numbers up a lot lol.

    A teenage-girl-factor equating to 600+million viewership is just insane. There has got to be another viewership factor.

  3. April 14, 2012 at 1:24 pm

    Like the post…your first mistake however was calling Bieber a “musician” lol. Then, one would have to assume that kids (who have all the time in the world) would be using Youtube a hell of a lot more than middle agers, some of whom don’t even use the internet, never mind Youtube! The people who went to Beatles concerts and lived it have been-there-done-that and I would doubt they are looking them up either and I’m sure many aren’t surfing the web to do it if they are. Bieber Fever was a phenomenon that took place apparently and was responsible for that. I’m not a Guns and Roses fan however I find it hard to believe that the big enduring groups didn’t get more hits as you are. It’s really crazy plus I feel like I’m getting really old because I don’t get it at all!

  4. April 14, 2012 at 3:19 pm

    Dana :

    Bieber Fever

    ROFL, I can’t believe that is what its called…I’m laughing so hard right now, I can’t even think!
    Excellent point on old farts and youtube. I only recently discovered you can stream entire music collection from youtube, its great. My guns n roses secret blew wide open yesterday, when my wife found out what I was listening and watching on youtube..lol. I guess she never made the connection in 10 years we were married together..lol
    You are not a guns n roses fan? Dana, you gotta check out this materpiece and tell me you are still not a fan. It is so good that it might actually beat out my favorite “pick me up video” for the top spot!

    Oh, one other silly thought, your hair reminds of something I always wanted to do. If I had your set of perfect hair, I’d go buy that top hat and a Fender guitar, and be pumping out some great guitar riffs in the garage right now…Slash style! I wonder what my wife would say..lol. Hope your vacation planning is going well 🙂

  5. April 14, 2012 at 11:46 pm

    Lol….that last line was killer! This does seem to be quite an atrocity…

  6. April 14, 2012 at 11:50 pm

    The thing about the “teen girl factor” is that they are ALL addicted to youtube…on their comps, tablets, phones, etc….and they all seem to be in love with that little boy….strange phenomenon for sure!

  7. April 22, 2012 at 12:06 am

    I hope my hair doesn’t look like that guy!!!!! Geesh! Thanks for sharing the video, I’m not wild about the sound of the leads voice (sowwy!) Just realized you replied to my comment 😦 I’d love to take credit for Bieber Fever but unfortunately it is a real thing, sighhhhhhhhhhh lol!

    • April 22, 2012 at 1:07 am

      of course your hair is MUCH better 🙂
      Can’t believe you just realized I replied to your comment. If you comment on any of my blog, I will turn around, almost immediately, to tell you how much I appreciate your time and comment 🙂
      Thanks for making me laugh.

  8. cookiemomma
    April 26, 2012 at 6:35 pm

    My oldest daughter’s name is PATIENCE! lol I guess we can add music interests as a commonality.

    • April 26, 2012 at 7:27 pm

      I think that would make for a really funny prank when she is older.
      “Hunnie, we named you with inspiration from a great heavy metal band of the 80s” and show her the video of what people looked like back in the 80s..lol

      • cookiemomma
        April 26, 2012 at 7:34 pm

        Patience is now 15. I had her at 21. She is well aware of the 80s look and thinks that we were really really strange. She can not imagine her mom and dad actually being “fun”..lol She actually likes Guns N Roses. She is plays electric guitar, is a very talented artist, and lives in her own world. She is not caught up in looks and doesn’t follow the crowd. I guess I will have to do another post on her. She doesn’t like being in the spotlight, but she deserves it.

        • April 26, 2012 at 10:14 pm

          now that is planning! you knew you wanted a free babysitter by the time you had your other little ones 🙂
          She does sound like a very talented and focused teenager. Thanks for introducing her here on my site during your “child presentation week” on your blog site 🙂

  9. cookiemomma
    April 27, 2012 at 9:43 pm

    Yeah planning, thats what it was… 😉

    • April 28, 2012 at 12:11 am

      I wish I did, babysitting cost is thru the roof these days 🙂

  10. May 5, 2012 at 8:01 am

    November Rain? Gold. Right with you on that one. Grab your top hat, light up, sit back and prepare to laugh yourself silly. Check this out:
    http://lesbianswholooklikejustinbieber.tumblr.com/

    • May 5, 2012 at 9:26 am

      Oh man, you just summed it up! ROFL @ lesbiansholooklikejustinbieber…lol. Its always fun when someone with excellent music taste stops by here.

    • purpleowltree1234
      May 8, 2012 at 3:18 am

      hahahahahahhahahaha!!! ROFL!!! 😀

  11. purpleowltree1234
    May 8, 2012 at 3:16 am

    Perhaps there are just stupid amounts (no pun intended) of teenagers accessing music on YouTube right now. A lot more people than those figures for Gun n’ Roses and The Beatles would’ve listened to those songs, but “back in the day” they wouldn’t have watched them on YouTube at the height of those bands’ glory. So the figures come out skewed. Make sense? Tell me if I’m way off.
    Justin Bieber makes me feel sad for the future of humanity too..
    Rach.

  12. May 8, 2012 at 3:10 pm

    I sure hope you are right, Rach. I was actually going to post another response to this blog to talk about Mr. Bieber’s other audience, but I simply did not want to drag out my confusion any further. He also has a big following by the moms 😦 Some of the videos of these moms-for-justin bieber is just….*sigh*

  13. purpleowltree1234
    July 14, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    wtf, moms-for-justin ????!!!?? Isn’t that like paedophila? Ew. LOVE Guns n Roses. I listened to them a lot in hospital this last time. i think if you played guitar in your garage Slash-style, your wife would be adoringly amazied. how could she not be!!! D. X

    • July 14, 2012 at 3:17 pm

      oh man, Guns n Roses will be the greatest rock band of my lifetime! I guarantee my wife will freak out if I dressed up like Slash and started my own garage band. whats you favorite music from them?
      the justin bieber thing is too depressing…lol

      • purpleowltree1234
        July 14, 2012 at 10:00 pm

        Guns n Roses… Patience, November Rain- those are the ones that keep playing through my head. 🙂 What bout you? justin bieber is clearly ONLY about sex appeal, but I’m seriously questionin the current trends in that. wtf????!!!?? i’m lost as to why housewives would want him. at least Guns n Roses is mostly about their music. omg.

        • July 14, 2012 at 10:08 pm

          wow, no way. Those are my two favorites. I was humming Patience all day today, while out fishing with my boys…lol.
          I do feel terrible about putting Gun n Roses in the same blog with Bieber 😦
          Hey, what are you doing tonight? Can you do a blog on Guns N Roses before Rach gets back? 🙂 I think you will do an amazing job. They really do deserve a blog of their own, by a real blogger 🙂

          • purpleowltree1234
            July 14, 2012 at 10:30 pm

            LOL you’re Still tryin to get me off the trail of how old you are. LOL!!!!!! I don’t know crap about guitar, n that’d be the core thing about blogging bout Guns n Roses, so I wouldn’t pull it off great. not with the exprtise they deserve any how. Best I could do would be to show their videos, but I dono how to do that. Maybe I oughta show regular GOOD music videos, like Rach has her visual happy spaces ont he blog. again, dono how to though. D. X

            • July 14, 2012 at 11:40 pm

              ummm…because some things are more important than some random bloke’s age, like Guns N’ freakin Roses!! lol.
              I think you would have an amazing story to tell about the fab5. Surely, their songs and attitude had some influence in your life 🙂

  14. September 23, 2012 at 9:06 pm

    Wow! Who cares about Bieber, Axl was my first crush (also the origins of a seemingly, seedy pattern of suitors). But Slash—is– was IT..I even bought his vodka! Thanks!

    • September 23, 2012 at 9:46 pm

      Sounds like you are feeling exaclty what I felt when I started pulling those stats. Thats what you call crazy bad…lol. Thanks comeing out to this blog and showing me how cool you are! GnR is the best 🙂

  15. December 29, 2012 at 4:19 pm

    Ha…ha..ha…so you’re a TRUE 90’s guy Chris!! I love that decade too. Remember all those rock bands? Warrant, White Lion, Bon Jovi (before the hair cut …LOL), Def Leppard, Poison. But maybe for you they still not as good as GNR…LOL.

    • December 29, 2012 at 8:11 pm

      my life can be summed up as pre-hair era and post-hair era.lol. 80s&90s were great and there was plenty of hair to go around! hahaha.
      Love those bands you mentioned, but there will never be another G&R 🙂

  16. December 29, 2012 at 4:21 pm

    Oh, almost forget, thank you for liking my posts and following my blog. Hope you enjoy it…:-)

    • December 29, 2012 at 8:50 pm

      well…you definitely hooked me in with those light paintings, and I’ve been a happy customer ever since 🙂 Thanks for visiting and I look forward to seeing some more of your creative work!

      • December 30, 2012 at 2:17 am

        Chris, if you really want to look at paintings by Vermeer, you can always visit Metropolitan Museum of Art New York (www.metmuseum.org) or National Gallery of Art Washington (www.nga.gov). They have quite a collection of Vermeer. Oh you’re so lucky! Maybe you can take your wife there for the Honeymoon…haha. Well, it’s kinda romantic, don’t you think? To celebrate your wedding anniversary surrounded by beautiful paintings from a celebrated painter.

        • December 30, 2012 at 11:14 pm

          lol, I’m guessing you already read my honeymoon blog.hahaha. I’m defintiely checking out that museum, thanks for the link. But I guarantee it will NOT pass as a honeymoon trip.lol. I think I’ll do it as her b-day trip 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

speak up, can't hear you!

