Home > family, humor > can underwear outlast a marriage?

can underwear outlast a marriage?

What kind of society are we living in, where underwear can outlast a marriage?

I was reminded of this when I went in for my yearly checkup, and my doctor made a remark about my underwear.  She was little surprised by the “looks” of it.  It’s not dirty or unsanitary; it’s just really old with lots of holes.  I still wear it because it is still 100% functional.  As long as there are no holes near a critical zone, and as long as its elasticity can create enough friction to prevent slippage under standard 1g vertical acceleration, it’s still useable.  Oh, and most importantly, it has to be clean. 

I find it truly amazing this simple piece of clothing can last so long.  I am nearing my 10year wedding anniversary, and I still have bunch of pairs that predate my relationship with my wife! 

I got few thoughts in closing of this blog:

  1. How does Hanes and Fruit of the Loom stay in business? 
  2. Is the issue that underwear is too well made, or is it marriages seems to fail too quickly?
  3. Marriage should last longer than anything you own.

I’m probably just rehashing something everybody is already aware of, but it just doesn’t seem right that many mundane items tend to last longer than most marriages these days. 

Next time you get angry with your spouse, look inside your laundry hamper and ask, “Is he/she better than these dirty old pair of undies?”  The answer should be a definite “YES”.

Please be considerate and don’t let your marriage get beat by some old used underwear, thats just embarrassing 🙂

Categories: family, humor
  1. dave
    April 2, 2012 at 4:13 pm

    lol, you are right. underwears do last a long time.

    • April 2, 2012 at 8:59 pm

      I never had to throw one away because of holes. Its always the elastic band that ends its life.

  2. April 2, 2012 at 4:40 pm

    Man, this was great for a laugh! Hope you and your wife have a long, happy life together, and you go through many, many pair of undies!

    • April 2, 2012 at 9:01 pm

      I’m now going to start celebrating my wedding anniversary based on “underwear calender”. Think of the benefits. It will be very hard to forget wedding anniversary then..lol

  3. April 2, 2012 at 4:54 pm

    this was so funny and yet so sad at the same time. good one

    • April 2, 2012 at 9:04 pm

      It is pretty crazy when you see some things in perspective. Thank you for visiting.

  4. April 2, 2012 at 6:46 pm

    Very funny! Thanks for sharing!

    • April 2, 2012 at 9:05 pm

      and thank you for your comment

  5. April 2, 2012 at 7:22 pm

    I agree with Terry…and…didn’t Mommy tell you to wear your good underwear when you go to the doctor? lol Fun blog, thanks Chris!!

    • April 2, 2012 at 9:10 pm

      I respect all profession, including my physician. I would never wear dirty & non-functioning underwear to see my doctor 🙂

      while I got you here, when are you going to post your long awaited blog about “worst experience as a rookie blogger?” Fans are getting restless! I’m all ready to reblog it on my site as soon as its released 🙂

      • April 3, 2012 at 6:05 pm

        ha ha!! didn’t think about it but will give it a think. I have two that I’m working on now but they have to be whittled down as they are long.

  6. cookiemomma
    April 2, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    This is such a witty post! I actually still have underwear that are oldre than my marriage and is it wrong to keep some that were gifts from a long time ago ex? lol I have to admit that I was a little shocked that the Dr would comment on the condition of your underwear though…hehehe You are so great at blogging, I love the humor that came across and the seriousness of the message too. BTW, Great background, look at ya. I am so proud.

    • April 2, 2012 at 9:22 pm

      Hey, why throw away good working item, regardless where it originated..lol. I never turn down free clothing from anybody! I may be a walking advertisement but who wouldn’t kill to walk around with a shirt labeled “Kung Pao panda” across the front? (got it for free at their grand opening in ’99)

      Yeah, I was pretty surprised the doctor said anything. But maybe thats becasue it was a female doctor? I never had a female doctor before.

      You were the first person to notice all the little changes with my blog. I would say thats another item that differentiates cookiemoms to soccermoms…lol. You get all the credit in the world for giving me kickstart with this 🙂

  7. cookiemomma
    April 2, 2012 at 9:42 pm

    Awe, thanks, but really it is all you. I will definitely be on the look our for a Kung Pao Panda shirt. Maybe I will have to make one, since it is so cool and there is no such place like that around here. Hey, you may have just made me rich! 😉

    • April 2, 2012 at 10:17 pm

      As long as you send me a complementary free shirt(include shipping..hehe), I hope you become so rich that I can feature you in wealthy section of my “I’m so poor I’m po” article…lol.

      Seriously though, you being the baking expert, if you want to be rich you need to go into cupcake biz. The one time where I did eat those dozen Georgetown cupcakes, it never dawned on me these were that significantly different than the grocery Hostess brand cupcakes. I think its all about marketing, style, and story. I think you would go really far in that biz. I’m a strong supporter of your cupcake biz 🙂

      • cookiemomma
        April 2, 2012 at 10:36 pm

        Awe! Thanks! I’m still thinking t-shirt though…lol

        • April 2, 2012 at 10:42 pm

          rofl… I thought you were implying you were going to open up a Chinese takeout restaurant, I didn’t realize you were talking about just the shirt..lol. Heck, you should definitely do it!

  8. April 3, 2012 at 12:50 am

    You are too freakin funny Chris! I love this! Made me laugh today! thanks.

    • April 3, 2012 at 9:18 am

      What better way to start my morning than starting off with a nice comment from my most energy packed blogger 🙂
      I bet you didn’t know I read your blogs whenever I forget my morning coffee. Your material is equvalent to that of a medium sized McCafe! By the way, that picture above is me on Friday nights..lol. Thakns for stopping by.

  9. Shawna
    April 3, 2012 at 9:56 am

    I think marriages would last longer if all involved parties frequently replaced their underwear.

    • April 3, 2012 at 10:03 am

      lol, thanks for the funny comment, assuming it doesn’t involve you 🙂

      • Shawna
        April 3, 2012 at 10:19 am

        Nope. Just being funny. 🙂

        • April 4, 2012 at 9:58 pm

          i just came back from mr “about-me”s blog, you know who I’m talking about…lol. Your first comment on his about-me page is just too funny. btw,I thought you weren’t gonna see this blog becuase of the gross factor 🙂

          Folks, if you want to really laugh you gotta check out mr.about-me. He has the absolute worst about me page but it is so bad that its so funny. It will be worth your time, promise.

          http://newviewfromhere.wordpress.com/about/#comment-591

          • Shawna
            April 4, 2012 at 10:03 pm

            Oh my gosh, you cannot imagine how hard I am laughing. Seriously, tears are about to rain down. Thanks, Chris. I needed a bit of spontaneous hysteria to put things into perspective.

  10. LifeWorthLiving
    April 4, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    lol this was too funny. You made me think about how long I’ve had my underwear and I would have to say I’ve had some since high school at least. I’m almost 24 so that seems kind of sad. lol

    • April 4, 2012 at 1:44 pm

      what crazy timing, I just got done hitting the the post comment button on your blog when I got this from you..lol. We must have same lunch schedule or something.
      I’m glad you enjoyed the post, and I was having the same thought in my head as I was leaving the doctor’s office.

      • LifeWorthLiving
        April 5, 2012 at 2:09 am

        lol actually when it’s your day it’s my night time. I’m in a different time zone.

  11. April 4, 2012 at 4:23 pm

    This is funny but meaningful! I promise myself just to read blogs but I can’t stop myself from doing some comments. In fact, it’s 4:18 AM here right now…I should have been sleeping. Anyways, I like this post! It gives me ideas on my writing, “The Principle.” It is all about my one and only principle in life…I mean, in my marriage : One boyfriend, One Husband.
    I’ve noticed myself commenting here and there it’s because of one very root: I am a heart broken. So help me God!

    • April 4, 2012 at 10:21 pm

      Time is money to most people. And that is the reason why I am very flattered that you gave up minute or two, which you will never get back, into my blog, especially at 4am!! That is certainly double flattery 🙂 thanks for stopping by, I hope it was worth a laugh during your troubled time.

  12. April 4, 2012 at 10:53 pm

    Yes, indeed! I love this post!

  13. May 4, 2012 at 9:41 pm

    totally and completely with you dude…have underwear going on 15 years…they are awesome.

    be encouraged!

    • May 4, 2012 at 9:52 pm

      Lol, I KNEW I wasn’t alone when I wrote this. Thanks for stopping by and I’ll see you at the induction of the Guiness book of world records, category of longest worn and functioning underwear.

      • May 4, 2012 at 9:54 pm

        I’ll be the one with the Army greys…

        Be encouraged!

        • May 4, 2012 at 9:58 pm

          lol, like I said, I don’t know how these manufacturers stay in business with customers like us.

          • May 4, 2012 at 10:00 pm

            it’s those untapped Asian markets…they are buying up western underwear by the billions…which reminds me, I need to call my broker.

            be encouraged!

            • May 4, 2012 at 10:03 pm

              lol, and I thought they were just buying or gold and silver mines up. I stopped calling my broker long time ago…lol

              • May 4, 2012 at 10:09 pm

                yeah on a closer look at my financial statement maybe I should place the piggy bank under the mattress.

                be encouraged!

                • May 4, 2012 at 10:29 pm

                  believe it or not, I actually decided to jump back into real estate. Hope, I don’t lose my shirt this time.

                  • May 4, 2012 at 11:06 pm

                    You brother, are a very brave man…we’ll be praying.

                    Be encouraged!

                    • May 4, 2012 at 11:13 pm

                      oh yeah, I can use all the help I can get!

  14. May 7, 2012 at 6:10 am

    Very true…. a marriage should definitely outlast any of a person’s other possessions! Loved your post! its was quite entertaining 🙂

    • May 7, 2012 at 10:36 am

      Thanks a bunch for the comment and the “like” buttone hit!! It amazes me everytime somebody finds this stuff and leaves me such a motivating comment 🙂

  15. purpleowltree1234
    May 8, 2012 at 4:11 am

    ..My daughter has Lots of pairs of underwear, and her very favourite ever are a pair with dozens of holes in them. I’m thinking maybe her dog had them for a while? I keep suggesting to her, maybe we should throw these ones out, and if you want we can find you a really pretty new pair of undies and buy you that pair instead. She is adament that no ,these holey underwear are her favourite! I’m thinking if anyone sees these holeys when she’s dancing around, they are going to think her dad and I are seriously neglecting her!!
    I guess what struck me about your awesome-lasting underwear too, is you must have enough different pairs to be able not to have worn them out in these last ten years. ?
    My mom was neglected awfully as a child and had ONE pair of underwear through her entire six years of highschool!! Devastating. She is the underwear Queen now!! She and her sister both. When her sister left her husband at short notice and came ot live with my mom and I, she basically forgot everything except about 20 pairs of underwear. 🙂
    Personally, I’m happy to keep wearing mine until they are too baggy and keep falling down, or have so many holes in them I can’t pull them up without ripping my fingers through them. 🙂 haha
    I’m so glad underwear exist!! Imagine life before underwear! Ugh!!
    Rach.

    • May 8, 2012 at 11:20 am

      LOL, omg that was hysterical. I cannot imagine life before underwear, that would be little too creepy..lol It reminds me of a popular Seinfeld episode where Cramer decides not to wear underwear anymore. Jerry points at it and says, “Only thing separating us and IT is that thin layer of fabric…”, and everybody in the room takes a step away from Cramer..omg, that was so funny. Thanks for almost making me spew my morning coffee all over my computer screen.
      And I am very intrigued by your bits and pieces of information regarding your life, I’m hoping all that is captured in your blogsite?

      • purpleowltree1234
        May 8, 2012 at 12:25 pm

        I love Cramer! And I love Jerry’s observations!! hahahaha!!
        My blog is probably Not what you’d expect! haha It’s quite heavy and serious, though I do plan on writing about some awesome stuff there too one day, as the moment takes me. 🙂 I’d say it is Not your average Blog, and definitely Not everyone’s cup of tea! lol
        Rach.

        • May 8, 2012 at 1:35 pm

          Well, I took a glimpse of it last night and it was good enough for me to follow it from here on out 🙂 Its definitely different, but its REAL and really different. I like it!

  16. April 5, 2012 at 4:46 pm

    […] A very funny life at that as evidenced by comments you’ll find here and another comment Chris has made on his blog. He pretty much threw down the gauntlet and called my “about me” […]

    when something is that funny, it deserves all the credit

  1. April 5, 2012 at 3:02 pm

speak up, can't hear you!

