Home > bicycle, family, humor, wife > Hunny bunny sweetie pie, I love you so much. Oh, BTW look what I just won on EBay.

Hunny bunny sweetie pie, I love you so much. Oh, BTW look what I just won on EBay.

I’m in a little “dilly of a pickle” (Ned Flanders from Simpsons) this afternoon.  I ended up winning an item on EBay that I had no intention of winning.  Cycling season is in the air and I bid on pair of bicycle wheels with MSRP tag of $2500.00usd.  Of course I’m not crazy, there is NO way I’m spending that kind of money on some bicycle wheels.  I kept my max bid amount at $1101.00 just because I knew there is no way these wheels are gonna go that cheap.  Call it a surprise, miracle, fate, or coincidence.  I get a notice this morning via my smartphone saying I won the wheels for $1100.  My first thought, were all those Ninja Ebayers sleeping?  Those Ninjas always wait till the very last second to snipe the item, but somehow missed out on these wheels.

Now what am I gonna do?  My wife is my director of operation for finance and accounting, I can’t really hide a big purchase like this.  I thought about having my other cycling friend pay for this, and I would pay him back in monthly installment of cash.  I would simply tell my wife I am buying some cheap beater wheels from Larry, in hopes she doesn’t notice the quality and aesthetic difference.  Problem with this approach is, Larry has a wife that watches over his bicycle spending like a hawk, and my wife might know the difference between aluminum wheels vs. carbon fiber wheels.

I can also do the whole flowers, multiple I-love-yous, chocolates, dozen Georgetown gourmet cupcakes, but she’ll know I did something really bad.

I can argue its whole lot better than spending $1100 on gambling, smokes, alcohol, or drugs.  I’m kind of leaning toward this angle if I can’t think of anything better.

I suppose I can also email the seller and tell him my 5yr old son accidently bid on the item without my consent and ask him to cancel my purchase.  This is almost unthinkable because how often do you ever win a lottery? I just won the jackpot here, I can’t give that up.  Besides, what if I get a negative feedback as a result?  I am a model Ebay’er with perfect 100% feedback, and I have various award certificates to prove it.

There is a 3 way conflict going on here. 

  1.  I can’t lie to my wife about this
  2. I am not going to rip up my “winning lottery ticket”
  3. I really don’t want to deal with arguing over, “that money could have been spent on bathroom upgrades, kids clothing, end world hunger, help animal shelters, etc…”
Categories: bicycle, family, humor, wife
  1. March 28, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    No matter what you do, you’re screwed. Do whichever makes you happy and suffer the consequences that follow.

    • March 28, 2012 at 1:00 pm

      lol, thanks for helping a brotha out. Maybe I’ll get lucky and end up just doing some community service for few days.

  2. March 28, 2012 at 2:06 pm

    Oh this is funny.

    • March 28, 2012 at 2:19 pm

      advice Mari, I need advice. Hey you think I can borrow one of your wonderful poems to “soften the landing”? Maybe I can plagiarize it and put it in a I-love-you card..lol

      • March 28, 2012 at 5:11 pm

        I am certain the logical in her will flourish. Considering the price. Thing is Chris, one must make their partner understand how badly you want it ; )

        A poem, hmm? Anytime ; )

  3. March 28, 2012 at 3:34 pm

    Yep, you’re hooped all right. Advice… hmmm. I recommend liberal applications of “Yes, dear; you’re absolutely right, dear; I’m sorry, dear.” Repeat as needed.

    And hey, look on the bright side. You’ve got a great pair of wheels to cuddle up to while you’re sleeping on the couch.

    • March 28, 2012 at 3:38 pm

      Wow, thats pretty harsh coming from a fellow 2 wheeled vehicle enthusiast..lol. but I do agree with your bright side point.

  4. March 28, 2012 at 10:32 pm

    LOL this IS quite funny.

    Similar thing happened to my parents a couple of years ago. My dad wanted to bid on a $4000 camera on EBay and was about to but decided to consult my mom first. She told him WHAT? $4000??? ABSOLUTELY NOT. But he begged and whined for like 4 days and finally she gave in. So I guess if you’re willing to act like a five year old at a candy store like my dad LOL.

    • March 28, 2012 at 11:18 pm

      lol…Does this kind of predicament only happen to men? You ever run into any issue like this when you shop?

      • March 29, 2012 at 2:35 pm

        LOL no I think it happens to all people who like spending too much money on things they like. I bought tickets to see The Who a few years ago. I went to my mom and was like so I bought two tickets to a concert, it was $400 in total, okay bye! *run out of room*

        • March 29, 2012 at 5:22 pm

          The who? You mean the 60s 70s rock sensation that was led by legendary Roger Daltrey and Pete Townshend? You, young lady, have EXCELLENT taste in music! I would say that was $400 well spent.

  5. cookiemomma
    March 29, 2012 at 7:37 pm

    flowers, multiple I-love-yous, chocolates, dozen Georgetown gourmet cupcakes, is an excellent start. I think she is due a gift that costs about $1100, but then wait…that would take you almost to the market price of $2500. Hmmmm That is quite a pickle. I honestly would not know b/c as a law enforcement officer $1100 is 2 weeks of work…lol I would just faint. Good Luck

    • March 30, 2012 at 11:07 am

      Sounds like you would personally arrest your husband if he did this..lol. I guess one of those “princess hand over forehead” faint might send him in a panic mode, too.

      • cookiemomma
        April 2, 2012 at 8:00 pm

        Oh how you seem to know me so well already…lol

  6. kzackuslheureux
    March 30, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    Play the sad little puppy that knows he did something wrong… It’s so hard to get mad when someone looks at you with that “forgive me for being bad” look. Good luck.

    • March 30, 2012 at 12:54 pm

      omg, I cannot be seen participating in such act of “lachete”, especially when I don’t look the part 😦
      Besides, I don’t want to make my wife throw up all over the floor…lol

  7. April 15, 2012 at 12:31 am

    Honesty is the only answer Chris! Just tell your wife.

    • April 15, 2012 at 9:25 am

      direct honesty or indirect honesty? lol. I went with latter and she didn’t know what hit her 🙂
      super saturated honesty can easily overshadow “less significant” honesty…

  8. purpleowltree1234
    May 8, 2012 at 4:37 am

    Tell us what happened!! 🙂 How did you tell her? What was her response? Have you got the jackpot wheels??
    I’m glad to hear this sort of thing happens to other people too. I’ve been very guilty buying Country Road clothes in the past (like $200- $400- a pop).. with my own money.. but it meant I had to put off paying my bills! Funny thing is, I had an eating disorder at the time and there is no way in hell I’ll ever fit into them again. My mom and I had a homeless woman stay with us several years back, who was coming down off heroin, and I ended up giving all my Country Road clothes to her. They fit her!! I reckon she sold them on the street as soon as she went back to being homeless (her eventual choice- she really was Not comfortable living in a house). I hope they didn’t pay for more heroin… :S Clothes shopping now is one of my very least favourite things to do! I still feel guilty about having bought those ridiculous-priced clothes. Even though I wore them for years.
    So tell us what happened with your wheels!
    Rach.

    • May 8, 2012 at 11:09 am

      To make long story short, my wife is just glad I am not an alcoholic or a drug abuser…lol. In the end she feels the wheels are small price to pay for such rewarding satisfication. Such beautiful wheels, I get all giddy thinking about riding on those wheels, to attack all the climbs 🙂

      • purpleowltree1234
        May 8, 2012 at 12:21 pm

        *happy* for you!! What an Awesome wife you have!! Even better than the wheels! lol
        Rach.

        • May 8, 2012 at 1:36 pm

          oh, absolutely! And not to mention a great protector of the fruit stand girl in our neighborhood…lol.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

speak up, can't hear you!

