Home > children, family > Prayer request is conflict of interest…not.

Prayer request is conflict of interest…not.

Blogging definitely has strange affect on me, its one area where I feel I’m really disorganized.  It kind of feels like work, but not really.  It kind of feels personal, but not really.  Just when I think I’m going to write on something specific, I end up writing about stuff that’s complete opposite.  That is the case today.  I was all set to write about DLP vs. Plasma vs. Led TV, and I get a thought provoking comment from another talented blogger who, again, has better About-me page than me.  So, if you were planning on purchasing a big screen TV today you should probably wait a few days, and you can blame Mz.Autumn for the delay…lol 

I’m a different person now, but I used to get really awkward when somebody prayed for me.  In fact, I made it known to all my friends and family to never to pray for me under any situation, when there are other needy people who can better benefit from someone’s prayer.  My logic was this, and I still wonder about its validity, God can probably gather up all the prayers, every day.  All these prayer requests are in a form of a raw data, because it needs to be post processed to mean anything.  The processing procedure probably consists of going through all the data, combing through all the requests, and making them all work with each other and other events around the universe.  He probably needs to trim the ones that are not as important, or ones that may interfere with whatever conflict he sees. 

I’ve always been pretty good about taking care of things/people around me, and I never ever consider myself needy under any circumstances.  In other words, there are less fortunate people around the world that are in direr situation than me.  This kind of thinking made me feel really guilty and selfish for accepting someone’s prayer.  I felt like I was a billionaire and I’m accepting charity money from other people.  I would often say, if you have the energy, faith, or money, please go help them instead. 

Wouldn’t it be lot more efficient for God, if he did not receive prayer request that wasn’t urgent? It will be less data for him to go through.  And of course I feel bad, because somebody else around the world is missing out on his share of prayer request, because I’ve taken up that spot. 

I know all this data processing stuff sounds crazy, but remember, God made us in image of him.  There has got to be some kind of complicated process to go through all the prayers he receives every day.

So why did my opinion change, you ask? I came to another conclusion.  God probably has a lot of employees up there.  Can you imagine a perfect corporation run by a perfect owner and perfect employees, making perfect products?  An ideal perfect organization will have no issue going through all its customer/client requests.  Hopefully they’ll look out for the ones that believe in their product, first J 

Keep all those prayers comin’ folks!

Categories: children, family
  1. March 27, 2012 at 4:21 pm

    So, my father-in-law was a heart patient for two decades. He waited on a transplant list for 2 years and was near death. I couldn’t bring myself to pray that he would receive a heart because I knew that meant someone else would have to die. On February 22nd, 2008 I was wrestling with this dilemma when out or desperation I said to God, “I know you won’t do anything unjust. I know you can handle the consequences of this prayer so I ask you to give my father-in-law a heart for Valentine’s Day.” The next day a perfect heart came available and he went into surgery. I still don’t understand much about this situation but I guess the point is that its not my place to understand it, just pray and leave the repercussions with God. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and by the way, I’m praying for you.

    • March 27, 2012 at 4:34 pm

      Yes, I know exactly what you mean about the whole guilt feeling. I agree with you that we should just leave lot of these things in his, or his department’s, hands. Thanks for sharing your story about your father in law. A miracle is truly amazing to witness and it certainly doesn’t happen by coincidence, its a blessing indeed.

  2. kzackuslheureux
    March 30, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    Is that a guy thing? MY husband is the same way, but I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard from good women, “I could really use some prayer.” If I was a rosary user, you’d now have a bead, but instead, I’ll pray your wife doesn’t get mad at you for the bike wheels 🙂

    • March 30, 2012 at 12:46 pm

      If your husband is also a big fan of Georges St-Pierre, then I say we got good match! lol. Thanks for your prayer on the wheels, I get all tingly everytime I think about those wheels 🙂

  3. April 2, 2012 at 4:59 pm

    Much wit in this, and some good “food for thought.” And don’t worry with your “about me”…I’m pretty sure I’m winning the title right now for “worst ‘about me’ section ever.”

    • April 2, 2012 at 9:35 pm

      Thanks for your great comment, again. I definitely agree you have the worst about-me page..lol. You may need to seek some help from cookiemomma when you get this..lol.

  4. purpleowltree1234
    May 8, 2012 at 5:52 am

    🙂 It’s so funny when people feel the need to help God get his job done properly. I used to try to help out my guardian angels. lol When I was a kid, I figured they must fill up my negative space completely, so every time I’d roll over in bed, I’d warn them first so I didn’t roll on top of them. lol!! Made so much sense at the time!
    I’ve got other issues with prayer… some people pray for a parking space and ta-da they get a parking space(or a sunny day, or whatever trite thing). Others pray to survive a life-and-death attack, and don’t survive..
    All my life I’ve felt bad thanking God for my food before I eat. Some people don’t get food today, and desperately need it. Do they get to blame God for that, if he is to be thanked for giving me MY food, when I don’t need it nearly as much as they do?
    It will be great to sit down and have looooong talks with God sometime. We’ve all got SO many questions.
    Thanks for thinking. Thinking is awesome.
    Rach.

    • May 8, 2012 at 11:03 am

      You are right on, over complexity with prayer requests. I used to criticize some of these prayers that, I feel, are mundane in content, but who am I to judge them? I’ll just leave the complex sorting to the creator, I have enough problems to deal with 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

speak up, can't hear you!

