Home > children, family > How is a man to die?

How is a man to die?

February 17, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

So I’m watching a TV show called 1000 Ways to die, and although its funny in some sense, its actually really depressing knowing you died and you are being made fun of on TV.  I haven’t really thought about death until I had kids.  I’m not afraid of dying but I’m very afraid of what might happen to everyone that depends on me.  I think about what will happen to my kids, my wife, & even my parents.  Also, I certainly don’t want to die in a way where its lackluster or humiliating.  The more I think about this topic, the more complicated it gets, there are too many details to consider. 

After careful consideration, I decided I want to die as a complete wreck.  Let me explain, I see my body as a work truck.  Best work truck is the one you own from beginning to its final death, after the odometer rolled over at least once and while its still able to haul building material in the back.  The truck will have given it all, over the years.  Radio stops working, roof starts leaking, power window/lock stops working, bad rattling noise in the front, etc… Even while things are breaking down inside, the truck still pulls hard until it no longer can.  The owner at this point will look back and see how much the truck meant to him.  All the money he was able to make because of this truck, all the memorable family trips, the first home you ever built while carrying lumber and equipment with that truck.  There will be no doubt the owner got tremendous VALUE out of the truck.

I want to die as a wreck.  I will have given everything I possibly can.  I will try my best and push myself to the limit.  I want every part of my body and spirit to be falling apart from all the things I accomplished.  I want to die while closing a huge business deal or while turning that last bolt with a wrench.  I want to die knowing I gave everything I am capable of, to make things better for my family and to people that depend on me.

Categories: children, family
  1. February 17, 2012 at 9:44 pm

    That seems like a very admirable thing to aim for, well, as far as dying is concerned.

    • February 17, 2012 at 9:58 pm

      Kids and family have strange way of making me worry about many odd things 🙂

  2. February 20, 2012 at 3:54 pm

    I love the truck comment! there is a quite beautiful little children’s book about a Truck named Ed who is there all through the child’s young years and helps him and his dad do all sorts of fun things, but then gets too old to help anymore and they sit and remember how wonderful the truck was to them, it’s definitely worth looking up. I will attempt to find the actual name and get back to you!

    • February 20, 2012 at 7:04 pm

      You rock! that sounds like a perfect book for my kids.

  3. April 26, 2012 at 12:16 pm

    Your family is VERY blessed to have you!

    • April 26, 2012 at 1:58 pm

      My mother always used to say I am the laziest person on the planet, and she was right 🙂
      Everything changed for me when I started centering my life around priorities. I kow I wouldn’t be like this if it weren’t for my wife, kids, and all that depend on me. Thank you for your kind comment 🙂

  4. purpleowltree1234
    May 9, 2012 at 8:32 pm

    You’re the ultimate family man! 🙂 Yah, I like that way of using all you are before you die.
    I’ve grown up closely with death. People were always dying in the village in the Phils. They were then sat up for three days and nights while Everyone visited them and payed their respects and wailed. I used to shoo flies off bodies with a bamboo stick with shredded plastic bags on the end of it. The dead were then buried very close to their house, and their grave became part of life there. Coffee and rice were dried on it, chickens scratched around it, kids played on it.. The frist question i asked my mom when I came back to Australia when I was six, was “Where’s all the dead people?” We were still in the car on the way home from the airport.
    I figure when it comes time for me to die, a) I hope it’s not suicide, b) I hope it’s not terribly painful, and c) every person dies alone ultimately, so it will be a really interesting experience. I would HATE to leave my child. HAte hate HATE. I hope to grow old and have lots more connections with amazing people and enjoy lots more peace in life and offer a lot more to others before I die. I ook forward to being in an old peoples’ home eventually with some friends I knew as a youngie, and laugh our heads off together, and play jokes on the other clients and staff there. There is MUCH life to be lived yet..! 🙂
    Love from Rach.

    • May 10, 2012 at 9:43 am

      I am going to ask for an autographed copy of your book, when and if you decide to publish it. I’ve been thoroughy reading all your comments and catching up with your blogs, and you got some incredible stories to tell. Please put me down for a reserve copy of your book 🙂
      Oh, and I will pray you do not die in any of those three ways 🙂

      • purpleowltree1234
        May 10, 2012 at 9:51 am

        I’m grinning, aw shucks!! You will have an autographed copy of our book one day. 🙂 Your encouragement is amazing. SO special!!
        I’ve been basking in the fun of getting to know you and Dana through your Blogs too (New View is next on my list!). What awesome people there are to be found all around the world. ❤
        Yes, I pray I will not die any of those three ways either. 😉 You either, okay? 🙂
        Love from Rach

        • May 10, 2012 at 10:31 am

          That is a deal! I’ll take two, please 🙂

          • purpleowltree1234
            May 10, 2012 at 10:35 am

            ok. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

speak up, can't hear you!

