Home > bicycle, children, family, wife > My best moment as a father and a husband

My best moment as a father and a husband

February 15, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

This event happened several days ago but it still makes me laugh, so its a sure indicator of a good post for my blog. 

It was just an ordinary dinner at my house, just me, the two boys (5 and 3), and my lovely wife.  The two boys are talking back and forth about what they are going to give mommy for valentine day.  It was pretty cute to see them go back and forth trying to “one-up” each other.  Eventually, oldest one settles on full size Hershey’s chocolate and the little one settles on his ring pop.  It was a really sweet gesture because I know how much those two items mean to them.  Full size chocolate bar is so valuable to my oldest because we rarely allow any candy in the house and when he does get one, it’s always the little baby sized ones.  The ring pop is also the most treasured item for my youngest.  It’s almost halfway eaten thus it is a “used” item.  He guards it like a pit-bull, and it’s the only candy that has lasted this long because he only allows himself to get few licks/day before he packs it away for another day.  So now, I just couldn’t just sit on the sideline and let this simply play out like this.  After my boys made their final decision, I stand up and yell out, my valentine to mommy will be the bestest in the whole wide world!!  I see the look on my kids face and you know they are getting nervous.  “What are you gonna get mommy, daddy? asks the oldest.  I boast bombastically, “I’m getting her a shiny new expensive Proform Tour de France training bicycle for Valentine’s Day, and it is sooooo expensive and sooooooo beautiful that nobody can get her anything better….HAHAHA!”  Please keep in mind I am just playing around and my wife is a tri-athlete.  I just know there is somebody getting ready to blast me with a hate mail for getting my wife a nice bicycle when my avatar shows how much I like bicycles, too.  I promise you, my wife really loves this bike.  So anyway, going back to the dinner table, my kids are in shock, devastated, and feeling hopeless.  I don’t ever recall having a quiet moment at the dinner table like that…lol.  You can clearly see my boys are worried sick to their stomach.  I just had to take another jab again.  I ask the young one, “Sooooo, what did you say you were gonna get mommy?”  He replied, “It’s a secret, I’m not telling you.”  LOL, I was balling in tears!  Then I turn to my older one and ask the same question.  He was in complete silence with facial signs of distress everywhere, I was actually getting worried he might start crying right then.  He looked over to mommy, with the saddest puppy face, for some kind of miracle, hope, or sign that was clearly starting to dissipate from him.  You can see the sadness in his eyes, worried his mommy would love him less because daddy’s gift is so much nicer, and knowing it was beyond impossible to match daddy’s gift.  I wish I could have taken a picture of them looking at each other; it was one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen.  Mommy didn’t say anything back, but I can tell she was getting all teary eyed, too.  She understood what was going through his little mind and she understood he felt that way because of how much he loved her.  My oldest truly loves mommy beyond anything in this world.  I started getting little choked up because it was so sweet, beautiful, and innocent.  Just when I think it won’t get any worse, my oldest finally starts to say something.  He was very choked up and emotional as he was trying to say what was on his mind.  He says, “Mommy, I’m gonna give you my heart for Valentine’s Day…” and he starts crying uncontrollably.  That immediately sets off chain reaction of tears.  My wife embraced my oldest, the kind of embrace only a loving & caring mother can give, and starts crying with him.  I’m trying to hold back my tears, while my youngest is getting upset because he now understands he has the worst present for mommy…lol.  My youngest is at an age where he realizes it stinks to be so little.  He gets very frustrated at times when he knows what he want to do, but he just can’t accomplish it because…he is only three. 

Everybody had wonderful dinner and everybody is feeling pretty good, so we just resumed our normal activity after dinner.  Kids run off to play with their toys for next 30min while mommy and daddy catch up with day’s events at the dinner table.    My oldest kept interrupting by asking us to spell “love”.  What happened next was something words cannot describe, so I am not even gonna attempt to describe it.  Please refer to Figure 1 below, mommy is the tall skinny one.  He did that 100% all by himself, no help from anybody, from scratch.  Its days like this where parenting has its greatest reward.  This one day makes up for all the chaos, destructions, broken electronics, crying, fighting etc…, and whatever grief these kids will cause in the future.  The little one hears all commotion going on and takes a break from his Thomas & friends to see what is going on.  Realizing he is snuffed again, he is now DEMANDING somebody help him create an art project that will match what his older brother just did.  Folks, when things get this cute, this fast, I cannot control myself.  I start chasing these two rugrats around until they are cornered, then I give them a big giant bear hug to squeeze out whatever cuteness remains within them..lol. 

I guess we all know who won the Valentine’s day challenge of 2012 🙂

Mommy's valentine

Categories: bicycle, children, family, wife
  1. April 2, 2012 at 5:12 pm

    Oh, man, this is strong:

    “He was very choked up and emotional as he was trying to say what was on his mind. He says, “Mommy, I’m gonna give you my heart for Valentine’s Day…” and he starts crying uncontrollably.”

  2. April 2, 2012 at 9:52 pm

    Sir, you just found my most sacred blog.
    Would you believe I actually read this blog at least once a week? pretty funny considering I’m the one that wrote this. This event was THE defining moment for me, as a father, husband, and a provider. I still get tears in my eyes every time I read this.

  3. cookiemomma
    April 27, 2012 at 9:06 pm

    I was a little worried at first and thought you were being kinda mean to the boys by flaunting your great present, but they definitely outshined you here.lol There is nothing like that mommy/son love.

    • April 28, 2012 at 12:06 am

      As soon as I figured out the importance of kids loving their mother, I keep them on their toes by challenging them every now and then. It becomes easy to get them back in line when they are misbehaving toward their mommy. For example, my wife is trying her hardest to break up the fight between the two boys, and she really struggles with this. I simply walk in the room and yell, “Hey guys, I guess daddy loves mommy more than anybody because I’m gonna hug her and love her!” Reaction is INSTANT. Fighting stops, crying stops, and they are clinging on to each of mommy’s leg..lol. And this is how I earn my brownie points 🙂

      • cookiemomma
        April 28, 2012 at 10:21 am

        Now that is ingenius!

  4. April 28, 2012 at 10:42 am

    I love path of least violance. No need for time out or spankin’, fight annoying kids with love…lol. I knew you would give cookiemomma stamp of approval on this 🙂

  5. purpleowltree1234
    May 10, 2012 at 2:05 am

    Oh my goodness, the sweetness and innocence and Beauty of your boys is divine!! 😀 I love how safe and loving your family all sound. And your parenting skills. I’ve always adored kids’ art. It is so unique and has so much meaning to it, often, which they can usually explain to you. This piece here is perfect!! Is it framed and on the wall? It should be! 🙂 I used to run my daughter’s playgroup art program, plus teach art to kids elsewhere too (kids whose parents lived with mental illness and/or addictions), and there is nothing more pure than art by a child. This one is outstanding. Bask in the love and joy and pride of your family. They’re worth it! 🙂
    Love from Rach.
    Thank you SO MUCH for letting us into this part of your life and sharing this with us. 🙂

    • May 10, 2012 at 10:09 am

      That picture is just priceless to me. He did that at an age where he was just learning how to write his ABC’s and coloring inside the borders. It realy took my breath away. Its currently on the fridge and not framed yet. We gotta wait for our wee-bear to come up with something significant, so we can frame both at the same time. He’ll get really mad if we frame one and not the other…lol. Thanks for visiting and appreiciating my the most personal blog 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

speak up, can't hear you!

