Home > family, wife > Help, missing my darn wife…again

Help, missing my darn wife…again

February 3, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

I have to write this blog because I can’t take it anymore, she is driving me insane.  I hope I am not alone when I say this but why is it so damn difficult to get hold of her when I need her the most.  I, maybe, call her once or twice throughout my day, and there is probably one or two occasions every month where I REALLY need to talk to her for some non-life threatening emergency.  But every time I make that desperate call to my wife, she is never there.  In theory she is somewhere between home, kid’s school, and occasionally grocery stores, when I do try to reach her she never picks up!  I would be less upset if she calls me back after an hour or two, but of course that is asking for the world.  I get the usual excuses such as,

My battery drained, I had it on silent, I couldn’t hear it ring, I didn’t take my phone, etc.…pretty much everything except for “my dog ate the phone” excuse.

I’ve done everything I can to combat this.  We got the exact same matching phone so I can easily swap out her battery incase her charge is running low, got her an unlimited text plan, unlimited internet plan, setup multiple email accounts to sync with her smartphone and laptop, got her a new portable laptop, she has the iPad.  There is nothing more I can do, given the current limitation of technology.  You would think all this change would make a difference, but I wouldn’t be blogging about it if it did.  Only difference it made was create newer, more creative excuses for why she didn’t get my messages hours ago.

I think I’m a very understanding husband but I feel this is inexcusable because my wife is the smartest person I know.  I’m your typical single processor husband that has limited memory(rom and ram) capacity and can only perform single task at a time.  My wife, on the other hand, can, figuratively speaking, tear up my liquid cooled six core i7 machine to pieces!  She NEVER forgets anything, memorizes any number combination with ease, she can multi task beyond belief, she is very efficient, and never runs out of power.  How can a unit with that kind of impressive spec not be able to respond to a simple call, email, & text?  It just doesn’t make any logical sense.

Luckily, because of my limited memory capacity, I can wake up the next day and forget most of the details as to why I got so upset trying to reach her.  But, unfortunately, I do retain enough bits and pieces of it to still drive my nutz.  I do  recall it happening frequently enough and I know I’m suppose to get really upset by it.

Mr. Dell/Mr. Gates/spirit of Mr. Jobs, I am pleading with you to come up with some kind of solution that will rectify this dubious black hole of communication.  Whatever this new device is, it needs to have these characteristics:

1.  must come in gold or platinum finish.

2.  must come packaged in nice velvety blue sack.

3.  retail price must be pretty high but with big discount at the store for husbands to purchase.

4.  absolutely no wires or cords must be visible

5.  infinite battery life is a must

6.  GPS tracking feature is optional

Categories: family, wife
  1. February 4, 2012 at 10:47 pm

    There are people who screen calls, and people who wouldn’t dream of it. Women and men behave differently, do you think that your very involved and highly personally motivated attempt to get her a phone plan that fits your need for security not hers might be seen as an attempt at being controlling? It would be exhausting to be a stay at home mom, who to be fair has a habit of screening her calls, to constantly be worried into making up excuse after excuse to someone. It would hardly encourage one to work on their problem, in fact it might enforce someone’s avoidance. Also, I really hope the GPS tracking feature was a joke, if you’re that far from trust, I don’t know how you can hope to stay in this relationship. I wish you luck with this, and I hope you figure it out, but it really sounds like an insecurity or a control issue on your part, feeding into an avoidance of you on the part of your wife. Good luck.

    • February 5, 2012 at 9:01 pm

      Oh wow, you got me good, because I didn’t even realize my post can be seen this way. I definitely wrote this blog from inside-out perspective and didn’t even cross my mind it can be interpreted from outside-in perspective. My wife and I are actually best of friends, we both compete, as a couple, in various competitive races and we participate in handful of couple activities around our home. If one of us were to die tomorrow, the other would simply wither and die within days. I can’t imagine going through my life without her, and we are going on our 10th anniversary this year! What I did not disclose in my post is the fact we juggle 3 big personal businesses, we are entrepreneurs. I’m the head of R&D while she is the CEO, COO, CFO, etc… Our ultimate goal is to work our asses off now, so we can retire when our kids turn 18. It’s an aggressive dream of ours, but also feasible. There are very few occasions where decisions need to be made, large sum of money need to be transferred, and phone calls need to be made to big clients. Its these rare occasions where I do get upset, if I can’t get hold of her. I re-read my posting again, from outside-in perspective, and I started laughing because, you are right, I sound like a really bad character.
      On a side note, I do want to comment on your gps response and the phone plan response. I don’t think there is anything wrong with wanting a portable GPS device to go along with my wife. She drives a lot and I’ve seen too many crime related shows where abduction can happen to an innocent wife. I also force her to carry a bear mace with her when she is out jogging. It’s got nothing to do with insecurity or control, I just want her safe and protected. It’s all overkill since chance of abduction is slim to none, but what if something did happen? Importance of her life, safety, and well being goes beyond anything I can describe in words.
      Our phone plan is the $49.99 T-mobile plan per
      https://chris9911.wordpress.com/2011/10/18/best-cell-phone-plan-for-meverizon-att-tmobile-sprint/
      It includes unlimited talk, text, & data. I don’t know how T-mobile can do that for so cheap.

  2. February 8, 2012 at 2:53 pm

    At least you obviously care…not all women can say that about their men. I think it’s sweet.

    • February 8, 2012 at 5:30 pm

      Thank you for your kind words. I think I would have pulled this blog and seek marriage counseling if I would have gotten one more critical reply from another female reader:) Its hard to believe we’ve been married 10 years from the time I got the green-light from her parents. ALL her friends and relatives tried to talk her out of it because I proposed to her after our 3rd date. They all thought I was a criminal or had some legal issues…lol. I just knew she was the one after our first date.

  3. February 9, 2012 at 1:29 pm

    Having read your response gives everything you said a wonderfully reassuring twist 🙂 You are also right on the GPS feature, when explained in a new context that is quite obviously an attempt to be a caring husband. Also, its very charming that you proposed on the fly, you two are busy bees!

  4. cookiemomma
    April 27, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    OMG! You so sound like Nick, except he will call me a minimum of 5 times a day..lol I always tease and say that he cant lose my scent. Sometimes I am in conversation with someone and he calls and I just tap ignore and honestly forget that he called until the next time he calls and brings it up…hehehe Too funny

  5. April 28, 2012 at 12:09 am

    sheesh, what is up with that? lol. You wouldn’t believe how often this topic comes up during my lunch sessions with the guys. This strange phenomenon has got to be like top two items that drive men insane!

  6. purpleowltree1234
    May 10, 2012 at 2:17 am

    🙂 Love is so beautiful! It’s awesome reading what you write about your wife, because every time, the love shines through the brightest. You two are awesomely lucky to have each other. I LOVE that you proposed to her after your third date! I love that you got it right! 🙂
    The GPS thing could be great for me on the rare occassion I lose my phone. Would love to find out where it is through GPS. 🙂 Luckily I’ve always recovered it, so far.
    Loving your Blog, Chris.
    Rach.

    • May 10, 2012 at 10:16 am

      I get a good laugh when I re-read this blog. Somebody pointed this out earlier, but it really does make me seem like a “control freak” and an abusive husband..lol. I’m glad you read it from glass-is-half-full perspective 🙂 I still can’t believe I was able to convince her to marry me on our 3rd date, how crazy is that? lol
      Oh yeah, my wife loses her phone all the time, too. And we usually find it buried in the deep crevice of her purse 😦
      I kinda had a sense you are liking my blog 🙂

      • purpleowltree1234
        May 10, 2012 at 10:19 am

        hahaha!
        When I’m scavenging through my handbag, I just tell people it’s the Bermudah Triangle. 🙂
        Your Blog is FUN and Meaningful- perfect combination!! 😀
        Rach.

        • May 10, 2012 at 10:34 am

          lol, I think that would be a really funny blog title, “Bermuda Triangle in my handbag”..lol. Oh my goodness… I think its commenters like you that make my blog so fun. I’m still laughing at your Bermuda triangle…lol

          • purpleowltree1234
            May 10, 2012 at 10:36 am

            That’s why I say it when I can’t find something in my bag. It lightens up the whole atmosphere! 🙂 Glad it made you laugh.
            Rach.

  1. September 3, 2015 at 11:21 pm

speak up, can't hear you!

