Home > children, family > My kid has Eczema, what now?

My kid has Eczema, what now?

February 1, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

My oldest boy had really bad case of eczema when he was just an infant.  Our pediatrician recommended we use all sorts of topical cream on him.  For example, the one cream she recommended was called Fluocinonide cream 0.05%.  I read the ingredient and it sure looks like something I do not want my kid getting dependent on.  I’m probably being ignorant to modern pharmaceutical, but I’m all for letting human body deal with whatever comes its way, naturally.  Long story short I fought tooth and nail against my wife and pediatrician and decided to treat him using something lot less potent.  Wife and I agreed on dry skin cream labeled, “Eucerin Dry skin therapy Original” moisturizing crème.  I lathered him up after every bath, every night, and completely replaced Fluocinonide cream.  I knew it was probably tough on my boy because there were times when he would really flare up and complain about the rash.  By this point I knew what his threshold for irritability was.  I let him go long as possible with just Eucerin until it became really bad and I would add little bit of fluocinonide for instant relief.  I kept up this routine for next 4 years with really positive result.  I started noticing his body was getting more tolerant and his irritability threshold also got raised significantly.  He would have fewer cases of bad outbreaks and these outbreaks eventually became smaller and smaller.  I know his pain tolerance was raised because he would same same kind of breakout that used to bother him, but now he would just….take it like a man and not think of it.  My oldest is 5 now and I no longer worry about his eczema.  I should also add my current 3 year old was also diagnosed with eczema when he was an infant.  I treated him the exactly the same way as my 5 year old, and he is already “cured”.  I put cured in quotes because he does have some small level of breakout from time to time, but its nothing little Eucerin and pain tolerance can’t handle.

Categories: children, family
  1. December 19, 2012 at 11:01 pm

    I had pretty bad eczema from about age 12-14. It was so bad that the pain could bring me to tears. I used several prescription creams, which usually worked miracles. But then, out of the blue, I just grew out of it. Maybe that’s what happened with your kids. I can’t imagine a baby having a bad case of it though. That’s not a good time.

    • December 20, 2012 at 9:54 am

      I didn’t realize eczema was so common among infants these days. I have a coworker who’s baby has severe form of eczema and its just causing havoc on the baby. I really do believe human body can correct many things on its own, and it sounds like eczema might be one of them. Thanks for stopping by to confirm that 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

speak up, can't hear you!

