Home > family, humor, wife > Quest for perfect Valentine gift

Quest for perfect Valentine gift

February 14, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

 

Fabio valentine courtesy of Bing image

Fabio valentine courtesy of Bing image

Fabio has nothing on me when it comes to Valentine’s day.

I’ve been doing lots of R&D on the most ideal Valentine day gift which I would like to share.  Here are the boundary conditions that must be met in order for the gift to be considered ideal.

  1.  Shiny is good
  2. Smells good
  3. Tastes good
  4. Feels good
  5. Have good recycled value once the event is over
  6. Under $50

This is a pretty good check list because it applies to most of the classic gifts that exchanges hands during Valentine’s day.  Let’s think about the two classic choices, chocolate & roses.

Chocolate accomplishes items 2, 3, 4, &6 really well.  It barely passes condition#1 with its shiny laminated box, but it is a complete failure when it comes to accomplishing item #5.  Unless you are into natural fertilizer for your herb garden or into methane powered microprocessor robots, it turns into a complete waste once you are done with it.

Dozen roses, or flowers, are good too, it accomplishes items 2, 3, 4, & 6, but it falls short with the other two qualifiers.  It’s not shiny, but it does edge out Chocolate on item #5.  I think these stay alive for several days longer than it takes for a box of chocolates to be fully consumed and digested.

So the big question is this, IS THERE A PERFECT GIFT that nails ALL the conditions  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, & 6? I think I may have found it…a silver bullion/coin is the perfect valentine gift; a full 1oz silver American eagle coin is the answer.  Let’s review,

It is very shiny…check

Pure silver smells pretty good…check

Pure silver tastes pretty good and possibly good for your health, too.  You can also take advantage of silver’s anti bacteria property by leaving the silver coin in your favorite drinking cup…check

Feels good: come on, who doesn’t feel good holding a giant silver coin…check

Have good recycled value: I think I read somewhere silver has gained over 600% in the last 20years.  Plus it can be handed down to your kids/grandkids.

Under $50: it’s at $37.87, YAY!

I’m heading over to a pawn shop to pickup the perfect Valentine gift, how about you?

Happy Valentine’s day everybody :)

Categories: family, humor, wife
  1. February 14, 2013 at 5:12 pm | #1

    Are you buying your own Valentines gift?

    • February 14, 2013 at 5:29 pm | #2

      lol, you are making me 2nd guess myself. Its currently taped down inside a Valentine card, for my wife.

      • February 14, 2013 at 5:35 pm | #3

        Well you did say it was silver and I guess it’s not one of those bullets you need to slay vampires!Hey, you know I’m just yanking your chain a little.She will love it.

        • February 14, 2013 at 6:41 pm | #4

          hahaha, oh man oh man, that was pretty funny. I wouldn’t even know where to get silver bullet to slay a werewolf these days. You have good sense of humor and you got me good with your first comment. I hope she like it, this is the heaviest valentine card I have ever given out.lol

  2. February 14, 2013 at 9:51 pm | #5

    I actually like that idea a lot, a shiny silver bullion coin! And it’s different, it’s not the usual jewelry or whatever. And it lasts longer than flowers. Now I’m going to go and ask Mr. Weebles why he didn’t get me a shiny silver bullion coin….

    • February 14, 2013 at 11:38 pm | #6

      Madame Weeble, I was ready to accept defeat with this radical concept because this blog was taking a nose dive faster than a kamikazi pilot! I think its a brilliant idea and I just wanted to share this with everybody here. Thanks for stopping by to support my idea. Its a simple math to see what would happen if you replace all the “usual” gifts for its value in silver coins. It could potentially be a serious retirement fund, all while spending the same amount you would have spent anyway.

  3. February 14, 2013 at 10:29 pm | #7

    How’d that work out for you? :) Inquiring minds…

    • February 15, 2013 at 10:58 am | #8

      I think its going to work out for all the future Hallmark holidays.lol. She put the coin in her jewelry box :) She said, it was the heaviest Valentine’s card she ever received.lol

  4. Still Loving Him
    February 14, 2013 at 10:32 pm | #9

    I love it!!! We keep silver bullion and more is always better, it’s a great investment. It will hopefully appreciate in value like your love for your wife.

    • February 15, 2013 at 11:01 am | #10

      hahaha, thanks for your support on this one. My wife also thought it was a pretty cool idea. We’ll probably do something like this for all future holidays.lol. I hope flower industry doesn’t get ruined by this new concept in gift giving.
      Now, I am very curious how your Valentine’s day went :)

      • Still Loving Him
        February 15, 2013 at 11:04 am | #11

        My Valentines day was excellent. We went fly fishing and then to dinner and a chocolate bar for dessert. Could not have been better. I’m going to write a post about it. We’ve been on vacation so I’ve not had time to write. So glad your wife liked the gift.

        • February 15, 2013 at 12:35 pm | #12

          WOW!!! looks like you have yourself a real Romeo. Good for you and good for him. You may need to change you screen name from still loving him to forever loving him if he keeps this up :)

  5. February 15, 2013 at 12:05 am | #13

    um wait a minute……a coin……ooookkkkk! see ya in the morgue! really how romantic! hmmm one time my hubs got me a IRON for the Mothers Day from the “kids”….and a big NOOOOOO! Bad idea….ok I was a lot younger and they were little and I was feeling un atttractive…and….. a IRON!!! um, DAISIES please…..no need for Roses…but DAISIES, as many as possible….took him about 20 yrs to get over Roses and now it is DAISIES all the way…of course now that I am aged I would love a really good IRON!!! MEN can’t WIN!

    • February 15, 2013 at 12:31 pm | #14

      its all in the delivery and the smooth oratory skill :) I hear an iron makes a really good self defense weapon.lol thanks for sharing your Valentine memory

  6. February 15, 2013 at 9:48 am | #15

    That is a good idea, although with our exchange rate, I doubt I’ll be getting anyone a silver American eagle coin :)

  7. February 15, 2013 at 11:01 pm | #17

    Hmm … Well, who am I kidding, I’d eat it.

    • February 17, 2013 at 12:33 pm | #18

      lol, i would just leave it in my water cup when camping, so it kills the bacteria :)

  8. February 16, 2013 at 9:29 pm | #19

    How…. romantic! I think. Yeah, that works. Besides, errrr… she can always buy her own candy!

    • February 20, 2013 at 8:48 am | #20

      hahaha, thats been my argument for as long as I can remember. We have a shared checking/saving/credit card account. My money is her money, right? lol

  9. February 20, 2013 at 3:36 pm | #21

    I am wondering what you ended up getting … I have to give you points for how much thought you put into it and for originality. It is much better than what I got: “I don’t believe in this over-commercialized holiday!” the excuse used by people that don’t want to get anything. :)

    • February 20, 2013 at 4:02 pm | #22

      I got her a lovely Valentine card with the silver American Eagle coin taped inside it :) This coin was MASSIVE and made the card really heavy. My wife thought it was little weird at first, but then really warmed up to the idea, as long as it comes with a card.lol. She also wasn’t aware of its anti-bacterial property either, so we’ll see if she toss the coin into her drinking mug one day. In the meantime, its sitting pretty inside her jewelry box :)
      Even though you don’t belive in Valentine’s day, here is a virtual silver american eagle coin just for you :)

  10. February 20, 2013 at 4:21 pm | #23

    oh I didn’t express myself correctly, I should have said what somebody got for me and not what I got for someone. I am a firm believer in Valentine’s Day and any other day that there is the possibility of getting a card/gift/kiss.
    So I thank you for your belated Valentines gift to me. I will treasure and save it with my other valuables. :)

    • February 20, 2013 at 4:39 pm | #24

      Thanks for the clarification. Soooooo, you like getting card, gift, and kiss….you sound like a very romantic person, Star :)

  11. April 26, 2013 at 10:16 am | #25

    haha you bring humor to a lot of things in a cute way, that was an interesting gift idea.

    Hope you two enjoyed yourselves, mine was busy but it ended very well & unexpectedly :-)

    • August 2, 2013 at 11:31 am | #26

      turns out silver coins are also great for doing laundry, too! lol. sorry bout the late reply, been neglecting this blog for too long :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

speak up, can't hear you!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 343 other followers

